Groundhog day...............


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Thamal
May 24th 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Myself, foot, plaster and Mike just before he left...Myself, foot, plaster and Mike just before he left...Myself, foot, plaster and Mike just before he left...

My fave chilling spot when grounded!
I feel like I am in some mad time warp. The days are now descending into repetitive monotony. Like some scene out of Groundhog day. Even the same darned mosquito divebombed me 2 consecutive nights at the same time; My response was of course the same both times....being unable to chase it round the room I could do little except smear mossie repellant in my hair ( which smells delightful!) and dive under the covers, with just my nose poking out to allow ventilation!!

The morning trip to the bathroom is meticulously planned and I wobble in the shower on one leg. I then hop down to the laundry 3 doors down the corridor to pick up clothes, being questioned by the same staff every day if my leg is better; I always reply the same : that I will only know when the
plaster is off, but that doesn't deter then from asking the same thing the next day........

My existence of rum balls has now ceased as my supplier quit this morning to fly to Pokara ( deserter!) so life is miserable grumble grumble. Matt ( grumpy slave!!) - I am keeping a log book so
Gigantus Elephantitis of footusGigantus Elephantitis of footusGigantus Elephantitis of footus

2 days post-accident. Hmmmm...attractive....
I know how many I am owed on your return!! lol!!! I am soooooooo bored that I am now concocting new ways to surmount previously insurmountable objects. There's now only 2 steps that I require help getting up and yesterday I devised a way of sliding up these on my backside.....but whenever I try, people come rushing to my aid as I think they think I have fallen!!!!

Even the drugs option is now starting to look appealing......(joke -mom!)

Yesterday , once again, I tried to escape into the real world and got beaten back. It's just such a mad ,bustling, potholed existence outside the gates. The climbers are starting to come down from their adventures and I heard news of 2 seriously frostbitten westerners wandering the streets outside. I may go grab a chair later and sit by the gates with security just for a change of scene.......On a more sobering note I read that a Russian climber just died on the Tibetan side of Everest. Two girls from my group were only talking 2 weeks ago with a Russian climber who fitted his description and was suffering from a lung infection and I hope and pray
Grumpy rumball slave....Grumpy rumball slave....Grumpy rumball slave....

looking undecidely grumpy...possibly due to proximity of beer
it wasn't him. Being here, in amongst it all, meeting the climbers, you feel very much involved in what's going on in the mountains......

Gonna quit in a mo as people to see and things to do ( I wish!!!) Meant to say ages ago by the way sorry Ive been so slack with postcards- I've only sent 2 all the time I've been here for various reasons and now I have all the time in the world I can't get to the post office!

ps. Not really that glum!Hoping I can cut the plaster off tonight..... yippee!!!

PPS 1pm- slight update- cut my plaster off and horrified to see my foot seems just as swollen as it was when strapped up 4 days ago. Looks like I'm not going anywhere fast........
NOW I am seriously fed up!

ppps 7pm - Kathmandu getting seriously freaky now! Ventured outside today and not only bumped straight into the guy who saved me after my accident but was also tapped on the shoulder and turned round to see..........my Everest climbers I met 2 weeks ago at base camp! They weren't due back in Kathmandu for a couple of weeks but called off the summit attempt at 8,300 metres as looking too dangerous. Was REALLY pleased to hear they are all doing fine and they may well be in Kathmandu for another 18 days so it's nice to know I won't be hanging around here on my own!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My little home in KathmanduMy little home in Kathmandu
My little home in Kathmandu

Actually a converted palace...well one does have one's standards y'know, and if it's good enough for the Beatles then I guess it'll do!


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb