trapped in Nepali hell


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Hadigaon
January 23rd 2008
Published: January 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

another bandha today, which means no vehicles are allowed on the road, which means no taxis to the airport. even the embassy is closed. the city is eerily quiet. and the sky is completely overcast, which doesn't help my mood.

if i don't get on that freakin' plane tonight, i'm going to lose it. i'm already starting to lose it.

kiran is coming at 3pm. if we can't find a taxi or a tourist bus, we're walking to the airport (i've been dying for some exercise anyway). flight leaves at 10:55pm. i don't care if i'm at the airport 6 hours early, i just want to be there waiting for my plane. my electricity goes out at 5pm anyway, so what am i going to do here?

where the fuck am i??? i feel like so many of my entries have been complaints lately, but i can't help it. i need a break from this. i need to go back to the life i'm used to for a while. there's no shame in that, right? maybe if i get away from here for a while i'll appreciate it more.

i just took a cold shower because the sun hasn't been out for days. solar heating is great...when there's sun. it's been a couple days since i showered, so i had no choice since i'll be in transit for the next 30 hours. i only washed the crucial parts though, not brave enough to wash my hair. and i can't remember the last time i shaved. ken will just have to accept me a little smelly until we get home and i can take a long, hot shower.

i looked at my body for the first time today in a number of weeks. usually it's so cold that i quickly wiggle in and out of clothes as fast as i can. but today i noticed how thin i have gotten (for me, anyway--i'm still certainly not skin and bones). but i haven't been this thin since college. even my upper arms are thin.

i came this far...pretty soon i'll be on that plane. pretty soon...pretty soon...

Advertisement



23rd January 2008

Thank you for the information
I plan to buy a plane ticket to Kathamandu this June, but after reading your story, I think I will have to change my mind about the trip. I don't want to walk to the airport anyway. Things don't seem to improve than last year.
25th January 2008

Please igonre Nepali politics
If you could ignore the messy nepali politics.. you would enjoy your visit in Nepal... nepali people are not bad, leaders make them look stupid so hate nepali leaders,... love the country and people.... B. Raj http://www.birendra.ws/ http://www.nepalsathi.ws/braj/01intro2edu/BRGiriCV.html

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb