Traveling to India and Nepal


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Durbar Square
March 31st 2010
Published: March 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Traveling to India and Nepal

During my traveling experiences I had never imagined that I could one day be sharing them with so many people by writing on a Travel Blog. I am not the best of writers but I can promise that my writing will be creative and informative. I was always an adventurous person - must be the Portuguese in me - during the 80's I did some transatlantic moving with my daughters.

Was not until I become a flight attendant in the late 90's, that the opportunity to visit different places was an open door with many possibilities. So I embraced it and got to know different places in the world. Nepal was in my list of places to know. Visiting Nepal did not happen until March 2006, when I no longer was flying.

I was in Timor-Leste in 2003 and I made many friends then, that are working today in different missions with the UN around the world. Chris is one of them. When I told him I was traveling to Nepal he immediately offered for me to stay at his house. What made my stay/accommodation much comfortable and economical.

His house was located in a very prestigious area in Kathmandu. Not far from the UN head quarters, with four bedrooms and four washrooms. Two roof patios. A beautiful garden. A daily house keeper and a 24hr security guard.

Nepal here I go .

Was my first time traveling to Asia. I was anxious and nervous. Nepal is a country well known for years of war with the Maoists. Two very spiritual religions; Hinduism and Buddhism. Surrounded by spiritual India, Tibet, and Bhutan and of many dynasties; The Thakuris, the Mallas, the Shah and the Ranas, among so many others. This is why Nepal is so fascinated to me.

I had four weeks to get my ticket, photos, passport, and visa. I was going on a trip of a life time. Thank goodness for my friend Chris that was living in Kathmandu. He told me I could get a visa at the airport on arrival but suggested I got my visa in Toronto before I traveled to Nepal. Just in case! So I did.

The first step was to call and book an appointment with the Honorary Nepalese Consul. I was given a list of things to bring that I had to follow; valid passport, recent passport sized photograph, postage paid returned envelop, application form and visa fee of $60.00.

After the meeting, March 17th 2006, with Dr. Shame, the Honorary Nepalese Consul in Toronto, the next step was to go to the Royal Nepalese Consulate General to obtain my visa to Nepal.

I was already running late, my meeting at work was longer than I had expected, so I reached the Nepalese Consulate at 4:15 pm. The office closed at 5:00pm; Took a number; 578, and waited to be called. At 4:55pm, the remaining 50 people in the waiting room were told to come back the following morning as the office was about to close. Could not believe it! I had to go back again!

The following day I was there early. The queue was already huge. I took a number again, this time number 89. By noon I was back at my office with a Visa to go to Nepal in my position. The next day had to go to the Consulate General of India. After 4 long hours I left with my Visa to India.

Finally I was ready to travel. I sent an e-mail to Chris and told him I was ready to go. I was happy. I was trilled. On March 23 I took a flight from Toronto to Chicago, on my way to Kathmandu. Was a full flight with 90% of the passengers being Indian families with children .

Arriving in New Delhi
Flight AA 2925 arrived at Indira Gandhi International Airport in New Delhi, March 24th, 2006 at 1:30 am. By far the worst international airport I have visited amongst the 30 or so places I have visited in the world. Shabby and chaotic but then that's India for you. I was not tired. I was excited and anxious to see, to live, the mystery I had heard about this exotic and spiritual place.

By 2:20 am I was outside at the arrival area. There was so many people that I had a hard time seeing the hotel complimentary airport pickup service. I looked around every where. Nobody was there waiting. I waited one hour. By now the airport was completely empty. Outside a few taxis were parked but no drivers.

I asked someone from another hotel, if they could call Hotel Ajanta for me. They said someone should be there in 20 minutes, but the driver arrived 4:10am. I wasn’t happy about that. I asked them why they didn’t turn up as I did pay for the room and they did have my arrival details. All I got was; their head office forgot to send them my details.

The plan was for me to be in New Delhi for one day. Take the flight to Kathmandu the next day and on my way back to Toronto stay in India for a few days. My stay was a short one day stay in Delhi. I book my budget hotel room with Hotel Ajanta, located downtown just a quarter of a mile from the New Delhi Railway Station.

I was worried about some bad reviews I had read online about the Ajanta. But was traveling on a budget so I took the chance on the Ajanta anyway. The reason I chose this hotel, it was because they provide Airport Pick-up.

When the driver found out I was coming from Canada he immediately lowered the radio and turned around to say he had a cousin that lived in Brampton and more family in Toronto. He talked about his family the entire drive to the hotel and how much he missed them.

The road from the hotel was busy. With both lanes bumper to bumper. The majority of the traffic was because of the in-numerous trucks on the road.

When we arrived at the Hotel no one was at the reception desk A few minutes later a middle aged man shows up. I was given a room on the 3 floor. Not worth the value I paid for. A few dogs were barking until sunrise. The location of this hotel is off the main and residential area, where there is more hotels, small restaurants and the roads are narrow and noisy. The picture of Ajanta on line makes it look like it is on quiet street, when it's not.

The computer service was not up graded. I had to wait for the power to be turn on. I was ready to have breakfast by 7:00 am. Walk to the restaurant that had just open. To my surprise there was a few workers sleeping on the benches by the kitchen door. The manager told them to leave and apologize to me. Breakfast is served but I cant eat.

I will recommend this hotel to those who are back-travelers or on low budget. Not to family or couples.

On my way to catch my flight to Nepal
The following day I was at the airport by 9:00 am to get my flight to Kathmandu. At the check in counter I was told the flight was over booked. I had to wait for the next flight at 3:00 pm.

I had a few hours to kill but not enough time to go on a tour trip of the city. I was also concerned about my bags as I had no place to leave them. I asked around for a place to rest in between and was directed to the Ashok Airport Restaurant lounge on the first floor of the airport. I had coffee and toast. They had a buffet but I did not feel like eating much.

I approached the entrance desk and asked if they could storage my baggage for a few hours. They were very nice and took care of my two suitcases with out an extra charge.

Now I was able to take a fast taxi drive to one of the markets near the Airport located 23 km southwest of Central Delhi and the domestic terminal at Palam is 5 km away from the international terminal. Taxi and coach transfer is available from both International and Domestic Arrivals.

Another great Delhi draw is the India Gate, designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens. It is a prominent landmark in the city and commemorates members of the British Indian Army who lost their lives in World War I and the Afghan Wars. Following India’s independence, the India Gate was rededicated as the site of the Indian Army’s Tomb of the Unknown Soldier (known as the Amar Jawan Jyoti).

Further, the Gate is situated in such way that many important roads spread out from it. Traffic passing around India Gate used to be continuous till the roads were closed to the public due to increased fear of terrorist threats.

About three hours later I went back to the Ashok Airport Restaurant to get my luggage. Was almost time to check in for the flight to Kathmandu. On my way to the check in counter I went by the many jewelers on the main floor. They all carry beautiful traditional Indian jewelry. The prices were good but I was told I could get a much better deal outside the airport. Something to add to my list of things to purchase on my way back to India from Nepal.

Finally by 3:30 pm, I was on the flight 4107 with Jet Arways on my way to Kathmandu. I was anxious to see some of the most well known places in Nepal. I could see myself already visiting Bhaktapur, Katmandu Durbar Square, Patan Durbar Square, and the Himalaya Valleys, among the many other places I had read about it. So far had been an interesting experience.

Arriving in the land of gods and Buddhas

And so I arrived in Kathmandu in an sunny afternoon Easter Saturday. The Nepalese New Years Eve. Chris was waiting for me. Was so nice to see him after all those years. We had so much to talk about. I still could not believe I was in Nepal. I looked every where like a child in a toy shop not knowing what toy to take home because they are all beautiful.

On the way to Chris house from the airport we stop at Radisson Hotel for a drink. Here I was on the land of gods and Buddhas. For the past four weeks I had devour any information on line about Nepal I could find.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb