Bodhnath, Boudhanath or Boudha!


Advertisement
Nepal's flag
Asia » Nepal » Kathmandu » Boudhanath
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bodhnath is about 6km from Thamel and being there is like strolling around a town in Tibet. There are Buddhist monks and people in national Tibetan dress everywhere. The shops sell Thankas (traditional Tibetan paintings) and Tibetan artefacts.

The stupa is huge and very imposing and is believed to have been built in AD 600. There are lots of wonderful shops, cafes and restaurants around the perimeter of the stupa and I loved sitting sipping a latte watching the world go by.

People walk around the stupa clockwise and spin the prayer wheels built into the walls of the stupa as they go.

There are many gompas or monasteries in the area and some of them have small guest houses attached.

I am considering moving into one lovely one with beautiful gardens or I may rent an apartment. Living in Bodhnath would be really convenient for me as it’s between the orphanage and Thamel and is just a short bus ride to the school where the orphanage kids go and where I want to help out.

I will let you know where I end up!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb