Born To Be Wild


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia
September 20th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me and EliseMe and EliseMe and Elise

There you go Dre, I really was there! ;)
Just a quick update before leaving for Altai.
I went out to Hustai Nuruu National Park to visit the Przwalski horses and was successful. Also saw some rare red deer a-calling (it's rutting season) and sillhouetted against a rising sun on a mountain ridge. Very intrepid did I feel.

Still haven't seen any wolves... probably because it is a years good luck to see one but 7 years good luck if you shoot one. I have seen lots of marmots though. Funny wee things... they look like wombats with long tails.

The Przwalski horses were great. It was a buzz to see them in the wild... the one and only real wild horses. They look just like the cave paintings. Interesting fact: they have 66 chromasomes where domestic horses have 64. So they're truly a different species.

I have a few photos but not sure of the quality... I'll add better ones when I have time, probably in a few weeks.

Into the wilderness tomorrow.

www.zavkhan.co.uk


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Moilt CampMoilt Camp
Moilt Camp

Where we stayed inside the Park


21st September 2007

Thanks Em... Really great pics. More... I want to live vicariously through you! While you are off concuering the world, I am in Prague putting a morgage down on a house! You couldn't be futher away if you were on the moon! I know the feeling and its great... So, I am very jealous! Good on you Em

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb