Arrival in Mongolia


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia
November 7th 2004
Published: November 7th 2004
Edit Blog Post

The historical image of the Monguls as a people of savagery, violence, and conquering their neighbors is NOT helped out at all by the beauty of their language. When men speak this language it sounds like a chicken being flogged, boiled, and raped at the same time. It's a throaty mess of sounds which made me reach for the earphones, Halls, and some tea. I was getting a sore throat just experiencing it. To top things off the kid on the top bunk across the compartment was about 12/13 years old. The Mongul going through puberty is an even funnier sound. It's more throaty than Arabic and less wide spoken than Basque. Oddly enough when the women speak it it's quite pleasant sounding. I truly believe that was their weapon. Perhaps I'll find out tonight at the Ghinggis Khan (to pronounce that correctly try spitting on each hard constant) Pub which is geared toward travelers.

SO I arrived. Like every country people exaggerate. In Argentina they say that Bolivians are dangerous, in Bolivia they say that Peruvians are dangerous, and so forth as you move north. In Bolivia they say the most beautiful women come from the city of Cochabamba. In Argentina they claim the most gorgeous women due to native blood and spanish italian german blood.

In Mongolia they claim they have the best horses. A guy told me today that Mongolian Horses, although they are shorter than Euro or American horses can run 35+ km without tiring while our versions can only run 4km.

As I write this let me point out how cold it is. It just went dark and i'm sitting inside a heated room, shivering, hat, fingerless gloves, long underwear, thick wool sweater, and a small chinese house. (in case i hadn't mentioned that I purchased a small down house in china at the market. It turns out I am a size XXXXL in china. I can't figure out if that is equal to 4 L chinamen, or 4XL chinamen).

So it's cold.

My last few nights were interesting. To go out and celebrate my last night some people from the hostel insisted we go to the expat pub district. Instead of beer for 20 US Cents we paid nearly 2$ (my hotel is $4). I had some airtime left on my chinese sim card so i went out to call a friend of mine. I was on the street for a bit, and before I called I had the nerve to go up to one of many africans, the only in china that i had met, and ask where they are from. he said nigeria, and he wanted to talk so he waited for me. Of course my concerned friend upon hearing this said to be careful, Nigerians are notorious for shady buisness abroad. I said nahh he just wanted to talk.

So i got off the phone and walked across
the street and by the time i was done not only was he waiting for me
but so was the entire african population which has migrated to China. It's
hilarious. he said i looked like i needed some "shit" and i assured
him that actually no, i did not need no shit. we then spoke about
politics and boobs until a guy from cameroon popped by and we talked
about african booty. it sounds funny, but that's really what we talked about.

I then went back to the hostel because I had now lost all my friends. My bed had for some reason been taken by a nice aussie from melbourne. i needed batteries and a watch so we traded. my 45lbs copy of war and peace for a watch and two batteries. i'm now sporting a big clunky (not clankety) purple women's watch around my wrist. It looks are precious.

I'm now getting ready to depart on a two week trip in russian military jeep through the monoglian countryside. After a few days from now i'll be completely out of the way as far as communication. We'll be staying in gers which are sheep skin structures erected in various locations by the still nomadic mongolians. it's customary for them to take in anyone passing through and put them up with food and shelter. must bring a ton of water however.

I just read that creationism is to be now taught in Wisconsin schools. It's been just a few days and they are already doing stupid things.

fantastic.
next time i'll write more about the yoga monk cult guy that tried to initiate me, his 3 ft long beard, and an orphange i'm going to visit.

Best.
s




Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb