Visa Troubles


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Now I must admit that I am absolutely furious with my host organization right now. They decided today to check my passport and then take me to immigration where I found out that because I did not register within the first 7 days of my arrival I have to pay $200 plus a per day visa extension fee (bring it all to about $350.) Problem: If I pay that $350 that means for the next month that I am here I can do NOTHING except stay in a guesthouse, budget my food money, and basically stay in the city. I don't WANT to stay in UB, I've been here for a month already! I wanted to go visit the countryside and do that kind of fun stuff. Now it looks like it won't happen.

So now I get to call my airline companies and find out how much it will cost to change my departure date.

UGH! This is so very frustrating! I was told the organization would help me with my visa and considering they've had volunteers before they should KNOW the visa rules. I am just thoroughly disgusted with the situation right now.

Advertisement



29th April 2008

Sorry to hear about your visa troubles!
But enjoying your blog. Hope the visa situation gets resolved soon.

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb