Visa Resolutions


Advertisement
Mongolia's flag
Asia » Mongolia » Ulaanbaatar
May 1st 2008
Published: May 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

"Mongolian Hair""Mongolian Hair""Mongolian Hair"

This is what we lovingly refer to as Mongolian Hair. The wind is whipping something fierce :-)
Okay so the visa thing worked out. Finally.

My boss offered to take the train with me across the Chinese border for a day and then head back but in the end the organization just paid the fines. This trip to immigration (an extremely crowded and saturated with a general sense of "what the fuck do I do?") was far less traumatic as this time I had a translator so I actually knew what the hell was happening. Speaking of which, on the way to immigration I asked if Boska and Gala were married. They are ALWAYS together but of course I've never seen any sort of affection but with Asian relationships, who knows? Yes they are married and they have two kids. I told Chingay (my translator) that in the US you usually know because they make out and are constantly touching each other. They all thought that was hilarious and Gala leaned over, making kissing sounds toward Boska. She ignored him, lol :-D

So with that taken care of, I have a visa until July 5th, a month past my departure date.

In other news, I met a Peace Corp volunteer who is finishing up her
OvooOvooOvoo

A traditional ovoo which is a site of Shamanistic worship. Scattered bread, incense and candles could be found on the piled rocks.
two year service in UB. She was a teacher in the countryside but one of her fellow volunteers was assaulted by a Mongolian who was then released from jail. In the interest of safety the Peace Corp has relocated them to UB for the remainder of their service. It makes me sad to think that this rural area lost out on 2 good teachers just because of one bad apple... but I guess that's true for anywhere. Anyways her name is Colleen and we chatted for a bit about Mongolia and exchanged info. Hopefully we'll get to hang out. I've noticed that every time I hang out with an American I just can't help but gush relentlessly about everything. I think it's because I go for such long periods without seeing any Americans that I relish the opportunity to talk and compare "experiences" in Mongolia. Good times tho and so far none of my victims seem to mind... or at least they're far too polite to say anything :-D

I went to Carrie's school yesterday and was able to interview 2 Mongolian teachers and two Evangelist women. These interviews are part of my academic contract so I'm glad I
UBUBUB

The city from atop ovoo hill. This is in the midst of dusty, windy weather.
at least have 4. And some of the women at my organization have also agreed to let me interview them so I think I will have a fair assortment by the time I'm done.

Otherwise I feel like I'm really starting to settle into my situation. Week 3 was really bad and was a week of emotional torment but I think the worst has passed. I think it's also because I'm close to halfway through and so it wasn't so long so I know that I'll be home before I know it. Makes it easier to enjoy the now.

Today I am on a mission to find VHS movies. Carrie informed me that there are movies in the 3rd/4th district (apparently also the place to go clothes shopping and find shoes.) This is a delight because I have searched ALL OVER UB and everything is on DVD. Not that I blame them because at this point most of the world is but it makes it really SUCK when all you have is a VCR. Sad day. I'm a big movie buff so the loss of movies has been a major ding in my independent entertainment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

UBUB
UB

more of the city
a ger!a ger!
a ger!

A ger at the base of ovoo hill.


5th May 2008

Hmmmm....
I'm reallllyyyy glad you are able to stay on longer but surprised the org decided to swallow the fines. Perhaps the cost of the train tickets for 2 does not quite break even. What does your academic contract involve, besides collecting an unspecified # of interviews?
6th May 2008

Heh.
Yeah but now I'm finding out from Carrie (an evangelist who works in UB) that the fine is bullshit. She has a friend who works in immigration who said thats not right soooooo not quite sure what the heck is going on. But at least I'm legal :-D As for my contract, I have to write 4 papers, conduct interviews, read two books, and then do a visual anthropology presentation on visual representations of ethnicity and modernity in women's clothing. .... I'll need clarification on that last bit since my professor and I kinda threw it in last minute to make sure it got past the Dean. So my contract is about halfway done thus far.
13th May 2008

Maybe defined earlier, but my memory sucks
What are gers?
14th May 2008

A ger...
Is the traditional home of nomadic communities in Mongolia. They are domed, circular homes (think sweat lodge) and layered with felt and canvas. I think I have a couple pics of them somewhere posted... but don't feel bad, lots of people don't know what they are! :-)

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb