It's a tough job but someone has to do it... Part 2


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
November 13th 2012
Published: November 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello again :-)

I've woken to another beautiful morning on the island of Kurumba - I'm not sure there is any other kind of morning in the Maldives... I'm sporting two very attractive mosiquito bites (one on each leg...) and my hair really has taken on a life of it's own! The locals have suggested coconut oil to tame the curls so might give that a try. Can you tell I'm not really a morning person...?

I'm heading to work in an hour or so and get this... I go by speed boat!!! No crowded buses or trains here... this would not be a place to work if you get sea sick :-) I'd like to think I resemble a 'Bond' girl whilst standing on the rear deck casually leaning against the railings but in truth I usually end up holding on for dear life and inevitably arrive looking like I've just been dragged through a hedge - forwards AND backwards! But I have to say - it's got to rank up there as one of the coolest ways to commute to work!

On the wildlife front - apart from mosquitos... I spotted a fruit bat yesterday - they're quite amazing and don't just come out at night apparently. The bar definitely seems the best place to spy fish at night so another cocktail was in order last night to watch a parade of sting rays swim by with the usual accumulation of black tipped reef sharks circling menacingly... ok so they actually look quite cute but I still wouldn't want to try to make friends with one!

Yesterday was quite productive, I started work and moved rooms too - from one side of the island to the other and whereas in my old room I had a fantastic open air shower in this one I have an amazing outside bath tub - no one can peep in but it's still feels a bit odd getting washed in the great outdoors :-) - I'm now looking forward to changing islands at the weekend - I'll be in staff accommodation then (no open air washing facilities there...) but I will be able to unpack and 'settle in'.

Looks like the Sunset Cruise is on for this week too and the chance to spot dolphins - I will be armed with my camera and I promise I will post some photos soon - this place is just fantastic and I cannot believe how fortunate I am to be living and working here.

Once again thank you for reading and stay safe wherever you are in the world.

Tallulah x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0781s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb