It's a tough job but someone has to do it...


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
November 11th 2012
Published: November 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Warm wishes from the Maldives.

A new employment contract and a new adventure for me, as is writing this blog. Something I have always wanted to do but never quite got around to... bit like working overseas as a travel rep - should have done it in my 20's but settled down instead, now in my footloose and fancy-free forties I have never enjoyed life so much.

I have worked mainly in Switzerland but did a stint in Finnish Lapland and a brief spell in Northern Italy. It's not a boast or an enticement, simply the chance to tell people what I've encountered along the way.

If you're still reading this, my first ever blog - then thank you - any feedback and advice will be most welcome :-)

So now I find myself in paradise, having just spent my first 24hours in the Maldives, and I felt it was time to share the sights and sounds of these beautiful coral islands. I should let you know at this point that never before has my hair taken on such a life of it's own - note to self, shouldn't have bothered packing the GHDs ;-)

It's a warm balmy evening and I am sat on my veranda writing this whilst listening to waves swooshing in the lagoon on the island of Kurumba. I spent a very enjoyable hour in the bar earlier this evening, sipping a passion fruit mojito and watching black tipped reef sharks feed... not sure how I would feel if I came face to face with one though... small they may be but a shark is a shark and Jaws has a lot to answer for!

I took my first dip in the crystal clear blue waters that surround all the islands in the Maldives earlier this afternoon - I felt the sand between my toes and let the warm waters of the Indian Ocean engulf me, a bit poetic maybe but this is probably the first time I have been in the sea for about 20 years! I found the experience uplifting and immensely calming. The only wildlife I encountered was a stingray and although I was startled at first I imagine he was more scared and thus swam on his way pretty quickly after being shocked at the sight of very white and somewhat un-toned legs waddling around in his 'home'.

So work starts in earnest tomorrow but in my spare time here in the Maldives (I'm here for a couple of months) I plan to try snorkelling, possibly diving and definitely take in a sunset dolphin watching cruise - so I will try to blog on a regular basis to let you all know what I've been up to. I move islands next week to Hudhuranfushi - known as the surfer island... Maybe there's a surfing chick in me yet - just waiting to get out :-)

Thank you again for reading my blog and if you've lasted to the end congratulations - take care and good wishes to you all.

Tallulah x

p.s.photos will be added in due course

Advertisement



11th November 2012

Amazing
The Maldives sounds amazing. Totally agree with you about the sharks! Keep the blogs coming :-)
13th November 2012

Maldives
Glad you enjoy your job so much
13th November 2012

Love it!
Dunno why you would think this wouldn't live up to my expectations, having had many a long conversation with you, I know what a brilliant, funny person you can be and this is just YOU lol. You made me choke on my cereal reading the bit about the stingray lol. Look forward to reading more. LUBNLT :)

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb