5 Ah Ah Ah, 5 Infestations


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
May 7th 2009
Published: May 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

UNO - Red ants have taken over, they are the ruler of all. Main quarters located in bed, wardrobe and kitchen

DOS - Franko the rat and family.. who's excrement has found its way between my sheets

TRES - Little black rice like bugs who i believe are the culprit of the majority of my misery,

QUATRO - Spiders, up, down, sidways and in every nook and cranny

CINCO - I am pleased to introduce the newest member of my family, the cockroach! Found mainly in my scarf and underwear drawer you'll find they are a lovely shade of redish brown in this fine country!

My lack of attention to you, dear travel blog and readers, is due to illness.. what kind of illness you may ask? Why none other than the fabulous Dengue FEVER!! As delicious as it sounds people. On top of that I have been nursing a confused little foot back to health. I toppled over on it just before I left Canada. Everyone reassured me that it would be fine but the swelling started again the moment I got sick. I am awaiting the results of my xray. We shall find out on Saturday morning if it is a break or just a tear in the ligament. In the mean time sleep isn't the best idea.. with sleep, comes bugs and with bugs the obvious next step is insanity.

It seems the fever has passed, I really didn't think I would make it out of that whole ordeal alive. I'll spare you the gory details but my dengue rash would like to thank you for enduring this painfully disgusting entry.

I am now on two more days of bed rest, which is quite impossible knowing what i now know. Its funny, two different dr's today prescribed me the same amount of time in bed/off foot.. which is almost like being grounded for two different crimes at the same time. Lets just pray its not a break.. there is no point in being on an island if you can't swim. (Even though this island doesn't have a single beach)

I've grown to detest Male' and all that live within it.. all people, all plants and most importantly all insects.
This haitred is harsh, but necessary to get me through this rough patch. If i have to eat tuna in a dish where tuna doesn't belong i swear wayne brady's gonna.. well you know


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0738s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb