Long week then Long weekend


Advertisement
Maldives' flag
Asia » Maldives » Male Atoll
May 3rd 2009
Published: May 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well things are looking up yet again. But I refuse to speak too soon.. I reserve the right to keep my heart strings pulled tight and my toes stiffened out of fear of another collapse in this bipolar fairytale land. I again have power to my lap top, i now can power all of my electronics, i have a money on my cell phone and Franco the fridge rat seems to be well acquainted with all that live in this castle ruled by vermin, in fact.. he may be king!?

I've learnt that teaching at this school isn't all that important, i do believe that its more of a cash grab than anything else. These children speak, read and write better than i do. I am certain the roles aught to be reversed and I should learn a thing or two.

Its a long weekend this weekend.. I've been trying to get into contact with Rose my predecessor at the Language Learning Centre. I hear that she actually goes out to enjoy herself much like myself. I finally asked for her last name today and found her on facebook. Upon returning from school this evening I found an email from my father who's been looking for expats for me to meet up with and sure enough the one and only link he has for me is for Rose from New Zealand!!! How he managed to find the same person I've been looking for all of this time, without even knowing that i was looking for her is mind boggling! :oD Post Script expat is a dirty word here.. I was quite proud of my new found title not a week ago but apparently its used to speak of workers brought over from Bangladesh who are treated very poorly, judging from the newspaper articles. But if I've learnt anything so far its not to believe whats on paper! For the love of god (or lack thereof, or whatever)!!! No matter how many blogs to books to encyclopedias you read they're all probably wrong and can't prepare you for a place like this.

Though the majority of my worries have been washed away by a new power bar the welts that seem to be growing on my legs are worrisome. I'm relatively sure they're from the colony of red ants that have infested my bed but oh man are they strange looking. The absolutely lovely Indian woman I'm living with came into my room after hearing me mention bedbugs and she inspected my mattress from top to bottom assuring me that that couldn't be what the problem is. She then continued to sweep down the strange egg-pod-sacs that i've been staring at when i can't sleep at night. I've been wondering what lay beneath their thin papery surfaces. Hoping not to awake to see they've cracked open. She said what they were but she only knew the name in Hindi. Between the red ant bites, mosquito bites and eat rash I look like I belong on leper island.. I can't keep up. I wonder if a bathtub of afterbite would do the trick?

Well I am off to do laundry 85% by hand for the first time in my life (funny this topic was brought up alot within my final days in Canada.. and here it is again). Somewhere along my journey thus far my purse has been urinated in.. yes you read that correctly someone.. or something felt the need to take a wiz in my lovely little hippie bag.. i sure hope the detergent here is strong enough to get that ammonia stink out :o(

out for now!

Lots of Love,

April

Advertisement



3rd May 2009

Feeling better
Glad things seem to be leveling out. Do not worry about how much they know, just teach what you can and do not be surprised at what your Dad can do on the computer. He will use what ever to help out his daughter, you should know that. Lot's of love: grandmapa

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb