Travels on the Jungle Railway and Expensive Hotels!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
November 21st 2009
Published: November 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Georgetown behind the continuous moving process begins again! The bus ride was pleasant enough I was the only westener on the bus and the woman next to me had to translate the bus drivers messages which was very helpful of her. Her two young boys were very funny and found me very interesting dont think they had met alot of white men. Kota Bhuru what a dump of a place to end up in for the night although the guide book had warned me I still was not quite prepared for how bad it was!

After 6 hours of sleep in my green room (no it was not painted green) I was very happy to get a taxi at 3:40am to the train station! The train left at 4:15am so I sat down on the station and waited, I met a lovely retired couple of Primary teachers, and quickly settled into a conversation about travels and teaching. We sat near each other on the train and it made the journey that much more special having people to share the views with and chat to, 9 hours is a long time on a train and I'm glad i sprung the extra RM 5 for a soft seat thats less than a pound!

Arrival in Jerrantut was interesting about 50 offers for a Taxi into town which was a 10 minute walk away I decided to walk and got picked up by a bus in the end, which then involved getting the ferry somthing I had not planned to do but in the end turned out to be an amazing expierance and a great way to enter the Tera Negara national park. Was on this ferry that I met Jake and made some plans for the next day or so. As it was low season the town was dead pretty much and the food sucked but the scenary was fantastic! A night in the hide of Bumbun Blau and we were ready to depart, although meeting Joe in the hide was definatly a plus we did not see any real animals except some Fireflys (never seen these before so i was excited if noone else was!).

Couldn't get a bus back to the Highlands to pick up my phone that day so left with Jake and Joe for KL and what a night we had still can't believe it really happened, one hotel upgrade = one amazing night. Jacuzzi, Sauna and swimming pool how i remember you all so fondly maybe well meet again one day when i'm rich and not a poor backpacker! Although the morning came far to quick and after one quick session in the spa it was time for us to check out and go our separate ways. Joe off to Bangkok Jake to find a bed for the night and myself back to the Cameron Highlands.

A week of being ill in the highlands what can I say about this, the morning after my arrival I woke up with a chest infection and felt rough as anything spent the next week recovering. Although I did meet some fantastic people during this week and had a great laugh with them. Laurence are walk/slide event on route 4 will remain with me for a long time (see muddy ass photo on facebook and photo tagged slide is how i got it). Brooke the terrible meal for some strawberry rice will also be a lasting memory! Aster birthday breakfast scones was amazing glad i could make your birthday special in a small way! Also the notebook to write 101 ways to procrastinate for my graduation present really touched me, I was so shocked and surprised to receive this that it has really motivated me to get on and write the book now! If i ever get it published you will defiantly be mentioned and receive a copy! Finally Jay who owns the amazing hostel of Father's Guest house your care while I was ill was only second to my own mothers, thank you so much!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb