Playing Tourist for a Day


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 19th 2015
Published: May 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I had one day in KL to see as much as humanly possible. It was hard to choose what was most important. I knew I'd be back eventually, but playing tourist was key for this trip. And it was so hot I didn't really want to spend any more time outside than necessary.

I did a fairly good job. I managed to visit the National Mosque, Merdeka Square ("Freedom Square"), see lots of old buildings, do some shopping, and end with a trip up the KL Tower for sunset. At the tower I met some lovely Moroccan women and a German guy. We all decided to get something to drink before dinner. Then I met up a group of guys from my hostel and all of us went to dinner before finding live street music until the wee hours.

KL is a city I need to explore more. Like many, she has lots of secrets to find. All I need to do is look!


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Orange is not my colorOrange is not my color
Orange is not my color

National Mosque
National MosqueNational Mosque
National Mosque

The pillars are supposed to represent palm trees. The area is meant to represent Malaysian nature. It also holds thousands for prayer each week.
National MosqueNational Mosque
National Mosque

The main room. There were guides to explain all the symbolism of the architecture and decor. Non-Muslims are not allowed to enter this room, though.
National MosqueNational Mosque
National Mosque

I love this fountain!


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb