SLIGHT change of plans muhaha


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
August 1st 2006
Published: August 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Petronas TowersThe Petronas TowersThe Petronas Towers

Tallest buildings in the world shadowing the most magnificent man in the world haha
So instead of hanging out on rarely-visited islands in Thailand, as was the plan, I just saw the world's tallest building(s) in Malaysia. How did this happen, you ask? Well, after my last entry I caught a boat from Koh Phi Phi to Krabi (I forgot to mention that I met a guy from Montrose, Co on the beach). This took longer than expected, and I ended up having to stay the night again in Krabi. It wasn't really a problem as I like that town much more than most people seem to. I got up early the next morning and got a bus to the southern city of Trang. I wandered around and finally found the office for Koh Ngai resort, on hopes of getting a boat out there. The weather would not allow boats to run. I figured I could just go to a travel agency and find a boat to some other island. No boats running anywhere, so I was stuck there for the night. I tend to enjoy the less-visited towns, but Trang flat out sucks. It's dirty, crowded, and there is really nothing to do. I spent several hours exploring, and the only standouts were a guitar store where I bought a strap, and an icecream store, which I visited twice. The next morning, I made the rounds to all of the travel agencies and still, no boats. I was standing there with my head down. I looked up and saw the main bus terminal, and realized that I didn't really want to spend another two weeks lazing around in the sand. I walked back to my hotel, gathered my stuff, and returned to the terminal. I looked at the list and picked out a location at random, really. Three buses and 15 hours later, I was in Kuala Lumpur, the capital of Malaysia. I ended up sharing a room with 2 big, jolly German girls, and an embarassing American. I got up early this morning and headed out into the city. After Thailand, Kuala Lumpur is shockingly clean and efficient. I rode the light rail train all around the city, stopping to wander at four different locations. It's such an easy and cheap way to get around. This is a Muslim country, and it makes for a huge difference in the people and architechture. The people seem to be generally friendly, but are certainly not as interested in foreigners and the Thais are, which is a small relief.
I'm really feeling like being on the move right now, so I'm already leaving the city. I'm going to make my way to the dreaded and chaotic bus station here to pick a new place 😊
Oh, and I went to put my shoes on the other day for the FIRST TIME this entire trip, but there was something in one of my shoes. I pulled out a huge wad of money from Laos, about 700,000 kip (about $70) that I'd forgot I had. The worst part is that Kip is not exchangable for any other currency outside of Laos. Maybe I can sell it off in Bangkok...
No time for proofing, sorry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb