Inspiration


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 24th 2013
Published: March 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I was shown this clip today of a truly inspirational man that I wanted to share with you;







Envision success and you're likely to remain motivated in trying to achieve whatever goal you've set. Envision failing and you probably will.



It's a blessing to travel; to observe, to learn, to meet, to see, to smell, to taste and to touch. In an era where we are fed a narrative that the world is a dangerous place, that those who think differently than us are wrong, where we are led to believe that people are untrustworthy, these moments taken from travel are a blessing. They have great power even in small doses – the power to transform the world, one person at a time. Travel plants the seeds of the future it can expand your life in so many unexpected ways.



As I have slowly started to settle, I have struggled to balance my new found desire to slow down. I have become distracted with the perpetual daydreaming of the next big adventure; whether it is the adventure of a new found life or that of onward travel.



There are many factors that make it easier for us to change our behavior during travel. Especially if you travel alone. You are completely severed from the usual influences. There's no one to shoot you a sideways glance if you act differently from your usual self, which gives you room to try out new behaviors.



When you're traveling, you are what you are right there and then. People don't have your past to hold against you.



No yesterdays on the road...



Not only that, but your senses are heightened. You experience fear and anxiety about simple things like hailing a taxi, finding a market and ordering food in a language you barely speak. These factors make you vulnerable to change. They also put you in a position where you must behave differently to have your basic needs met. After all, you have to eat to live; so, being proactive becomes imperative, rather than optional.



What I learnt so far since leaving the UK is that I can live my life on my own terms, and I want that feeling of slow satisfaction with me all the time. It’s led me to re-evaluate my life and what I want from it. It has helped give me the insight and courage to put it into action.



This has come about only because I was willing to explore. Not only the world but myself too. Travel has become more than an escape from everyday life. It’s now about possibility, about transformation, about potential.



I’m not completely there yet, but I know what I want and I am working to create a new reality.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb