End of KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 15th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I eventually got up earlier to go to the Petronis Tower to get a ticket to go to the bridge and near the top. I did get up by 7 on Monday to go and then realised it is not open on a Monday so went back to bed! To be sure of getting a ticket you go about 8 and queue for when the box office opens. I got a ticket for 7pm, which is what I wanted so that I could start in the daylight and finish seeing it in the dark. I don't want to depress any of you but 55 is a senior citizen here, which used to be 50 2 years ago! I took loads more photos but I cannot download them at this hostel so I will have to wait to publish It was raining the next morning so went and got the bus to Melaka - comfortable journey for 2 hours and for just about 2 pounds.

Staying at a cheap hostel for 3 pounds a night, really friendly people, in a dorm of 12 people (we are NOT that friendly!) and it is really central. Being bitten by loads of mosquitoes - I presume that I am quite tasty!! Melaka is really pretty and really popular as a resort. So it has been packed this weekend, mainly with Chinese as the Chinese New Year holiday does not finish until tomorrow. I will be spending a couple of more days here and planning my last stage before Singapore at the end of next week. Will write more on my next blog and hopefully can up load some more pictures.

Lee in the hostel takes who ever wants to go, to a restaurant each evening, which is great as they are places I wouldn't go as I don't know they exist. One evening was at a Mosque, who do free meals 3 times a day for anyone. We had to cover ourselves. The food was delicious.

I did a cycle ride today of 13k each way to visit the swimming pool that my sister and I swam in for 2 years when we lived in Malacca from 1955 to 1957, when our father was working here in the army. The pool is still there!! Didn't look as it was used much as a much nicer one has been built next to it very recently. Those pictures will be uploaded when I can. When I lived here I only had half day school and swam every afternoon. So that pool was a large part of our lives. I still have a swimming badge from that time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb