Unpredictable Asia. True adventures through Malaysia (KL, Redang, KT) - Singapore - Sri Lanka - Thailand


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 26th 2012
Published: September 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The captain crew announces: "Dear passengers, we have just landed in Bardanayake airport, Colombo. The local time is 06.55. Hope that you enjoyed your flight. Thank you for choosing Srilankan airlines". And I wake up.

My new friends and I leave the plane after few hours of sleeping. We need to go out from the airport and direct our steps to the immigration counter for passport control. I give my document and after examining it carefully a border guard of typical srilankan appearance comes back to me, looking dumbfounded with a question "your visa?" what???... to be honest, i do not possess reliable information upon this requirement but anyway, i start to persuade him that i have all proof about my leaving tonight. this destination is our transit point but he explains that this is exactly the reason for his refusal to let me in. from this very moment i become a little bit angry for starting my trip in this way like showing him how it is possible that we lose time here thinking over these stupid things instead of going to the beach. at this moment i see the next counter giving the permit to enter to my friends and i call immigration policeman's attention to it. as a result, we all receive the answer "welcome to sri lanka" but it sounds like a favour, not good.

We jump in a bus that is full of local people and arrive to a bus station, where our destination is Negombo.
Negombo is a small town but looks more like a village. Walking inside , we stumble across a local market with a mix of different fruit, fish and clothes. Srilankan people are very nice and friendly, inviting us to purchase their goods. We continue down the road and reach the beach that is quiet long with golden sand and wavy Indian ocean, almost empty this morning with few locals on it. We decide to try some national cuisine first and hardly find a place to eat because most restaurants are open from 12 p.m. The curry is fantastic and a lot of extra dishes are delivered to us that are already included in the price. After meals, we are eager to drink local arrack even if it is 11 a.m. and from this very moment our adventures start to develop faster😊

We come back to the beach where a lot of sri lankan surround us with their pure attention, inviting to swim together or simply speak. All of them are men, not very tall and handsome but mostly wild and importunate, offering sex immediately and any kind of relationships to stay together to enjoy. Getting tired of this crowd coming more and more towards us and getting drunk for arrack, we continue swimming when my new friend finds a bottle in water. Being very happy of receiving this godsend, we dream of Genie from "Aladin" cartoon but in fact, we discover a contact number with no-name. Probably, a girl like me got exhausted in this environment and wanted to make new friends here 😊

...The sun goes down, we take pictures of this colourful scene and i go in the middle of srilankan crowd that is like 500 persons in number. This is Sunday and traditionally, families from all over Negombo come to the beach to have fun. I speak to them, take pictures and enjoy the atmosphere of holiday. Going away, they are waving to me, hoping to see again, but this might never happen. One woman that seems beautiful but sick at heart approches me, asking: "How are u?" and when she is close to me, i get alarmed that something wrong has happened. It turns out that she decides to prevent me from swimming in the ocean. She tells me the story that hurts my soul and arouses pity. She is alone, with 5 babies. Her husband was gone with the power of waves 5 years ago. i am close to cry for being deeply touched by her care about me and embrace her to express my support, saying, how i am proud of her courage and positive attitude to life. Some traits in her are similiar to mine, and i respect her way to survive and live, smiling to all around.

The crowd thins out and we do not catch the moment how remain in a group of an indian jewellery seller, a local drug adict and few aborigines more for decorations. Arrack has finished and our decision is to continue 'cause we have more time before departure. it often happens while travelling to a new country for me to test people for integrity. this was not an exception. so, my friends and i club together to buy another bottle and send him to a wine shop. he disappears... forever! i knew it but gave a chance to refute. this is the black side of Sri Lanka...
On our way back to the airport i drive tuk-tuk, completely drunk, bringing my new friends who have a flight to Bangkok tonight 😊 ...I land in Kuala Lumpur. Aircraft crew wakes me up and i leave the plane. it is about 7 a.m. and I take a bus to my hotel, Radius. Discovering that a swimming pool doesn't fuction, i give myself some time to sleep but the hotel stuff disturbes me each 30 minutes asking if i need something. So, i decide to have lunch and go to see the city. I visit the park down Petronas twin towers, than pick up a taxi and decide to go to a cave with the tallest Budha in Asia. it impresses, but the stairs going up are too high. it starts to rain, monkeys are jumping all around and i feel no end of this way to heaven. the cave is a kind of extraodinary but i get no inspiration and feel empty. my taxi driver is waiting down, so i come back and go to my hotel, preparing for the next flight.

At 4.30 a.m. i wake up, and take a cab, fighting for a good fare with a driver to bring me to the airport to take the next flight to Singapore. After landing i discover that i cannot enter the country again but now, the opposite to Sri Lanka,.. they need my transit ticket but not return to Kuala Lumpur. I have got just one day there for the lack of time and they say that it is impossible!!?? Everybody at passport control looks at me like i am crazy but i am not ready to perform another show here, and simply ask, "what can i do?" the only option that they suggest me is to buy a ticket to Thailand or Indonesia. So, i spend about 90 dollars to book a flight to Jakarta but at the same time i know that i will not go because the next day is my flight Kuala Lumpur - Kuala Terengganu. and indeed, it is non-refundable. I make a city tour round Singapore, visit Chinatown as ever and direct my steps to Sentosa island. I take a skyride to come back to the land and then, hoping to pass the control at the airport i leave for Kuala Lumpur. This time i am lucky.

I was so excited to go to Singapore but finally what is remarkable there is skyline and the policy of fine for everything: smoking, chewing gum, eating and drinking, dancing without permit and no end of the restrictions. The soup was very good as well😊

I come back to Malaysia, find my new hotel and get nervous for conditions in my room. it smells very bad, the linen is dirty and i find no way to sleep in this place. i go to 7/11, local supermarket, buy Guiness beer and after one bottle in a gulp i collaps from exhaustion. this is much better...

I order a wake up call, but the reception desk forgets about my request forever. or they call. i never know it. i jump out of bed in panic that i have lost my flight but not. it turns out that i have enough time to take a coffee and i meet a woman from London. we speak for a while surfing the internet deciding on what to do. i have a plan and i give her a piece of advice so that she could catch a wave where to go here or there. in the end, i am short of time and take a bus to the airport again.

When i land in Kuala Terengganu, the second city after the capital, night is already drawing on. i pick up the only cab and my destination is Merang. this is the most horrible place i have ever been. my driver is running but there is just road and jungle. he can't help laughing, and i ask him a cigarette rolled by him to feel the same. in 100 kms he stops, saying, "please, here you are". being shocked, i lose the gift of speech. and you? what will you do when you see a shanty with dim light and 5 malaysian men in the middle of nothing watching TV among pulms?! my inner voice says, "you remain here forever", but i am curious to know the way these people treat me and i remain. with my eyes, very big at the moment, i pronounce, "i have a reserv...". "no, no, we do not speak english", one interrupts me. i give him a hotel confirmation but he has never seen it before, and just says "Room?" i nod my agreement, sign up in a kind of registration book and receive a key. i come inside my lodging for the night, see the army of the ants in my bed with no surprise and go out to watch TV and talk to the men, when a lorry drives into the garden of the place. 5 men more come out and sit with us clicking seeds. i do the same. smoke the same. but finally i get hungry, what is more, i feel how irresistable my desire to get drunk is this night. i ask men for a beer. seems they do not understand or do not want to understand. they say, if i need the nearest shop, it is 20 km and i can walk, but it is deep night! what are they doing with me? i start to annoy everybody with my obsession to get at least a beer this night even if i dream of rum or whisky not to notice animals around me, and as a result, after a long discussion in malaysian language two of them say, "ok, come". i sit in a truck between them, realizing the level of risk but much more filled with my curiosity where they 'll bring me. after 15 minutes drive we arrive to another hotel, a luxurious one and i spend quite a lot of money for beer but feel very happy. they say, that i am the only girl who has come alone to their hotel in the history and that is why, they are ready to assist me and make my stay comfortable, more or less. upon my come back to Kembara resort, this is the name of my overnight stay, a boy from the reception desk throws the phrase, "feel safe, i'll come to your room tonight, you are beautiful". nothing more is necessary for my finishing beer and getting to sleep. but first, i decide to bring everybody to my room, remembering about the ants. they exchange glances and say, "ok, take another key". i open a door, the linen is dark blue and i say, "it's true. it's better. the ants here are not so visible". i ask for a wake up call tomorrow and at 5 in the morning they knock the door and neighbouring walls ...everybody!!! they put me in a truck again and bring to a jetty to go to the island.

another malaysian person meets me there and asks if i arranged the hotel on the island. of course not, i say. my plan is to come back to the land tonight but i discover that there is no chance because last boat leaves the island at 11 a.m. and now it is 8 a.m. no sense then. as well, i do not have cash anymore, and the same person kindly brings me to ATM. very very helpful. he will also find me a nice hotel on the island and give his contact number in case of any inquiry.

As for me, this period in Redang is the best one that i had during all my trip but you know, after the island i go to Kuala Terengganu and have really great time with all the local people there. i meet the same australians who want to take care of me, inviting to their hotel, but i decide to explore the city. All locals are extremely nice and friendly with me, smiling and trying to understand where this alien is from))))) they make photos of me, saying, "Russia? is it in Nepal or Malaysia?" so, it is funny. i guess, they put my photos in all local newspapers next morning 😊)))) they are all muslim and are celebrating Ramadan...

finally, i take a motor boat with 2 australians and get to paradise. the sea is of 7 shades of blue and baby sharks inside, perfect for snorkelling, the sand is as white as snow. the scene is beautiful and very green. i pay for my room and glad to discover very good conditions of staying there. tonight i meet 3 spanish men, 2 belgium guys and 1 italian. we get drunk in a bar, i dance because local musicians play very well and get asleep. two days make me relaxed and out of any troubles.

I am too tired actually, when i come back to Kuala Lumpur at night and decide to stay at the airport to wait for my next flight to Bangkok in the morning.,my hotel in Pattaya is very good, especially my bed 😊)i even stay in it for 12 hours maybe having no power to move. For the reason of being sleepy all the day, my plan malfunction and i don't go to Koh Chang island. But first night i find myself in a very strange situation among south african men, drinking local rum, B52, Singha beer and Tequila in disorder. as a result, i get a bit frightened, even if an african repeats, "feel safe. i'll take care of you". so, starting to escape by motor bike to karaoke bar, the man is going to reach me but i run away with my driver 😊uffff.. 😉)

then i continue to explore some more islands, look for my thai friends of 2011, find the house, but the family doesn't stay there.a pity.. and before going to Bangkok i have another strange night in a thai village with a thai woman and her finnish man and a german family at an incredible beach for the scene but very very bad for cleanness. it has a very romantic view and the hotel is in a sanatorium style 😊

i spend in Bangkok about just 2 hours and have to come back to Kuala Lumpur. It is a big disaster, contacting Srilankan airlines vainly when i discover that there is no opportunity to start my return trip from Bangkok directly.to Colombo and then Moscow..

So, from Bangkok i take a flight to KL where i spend about 7 hours, then Sri-Lanka... it is funny because i have to slip money to a border guard. but you can imagine?! the immigration police doesn't want to let me in again and i have to give them $10 just in the zone where they put a stamp in the passport to enter Sri Lanka. crazy! they take a risk for this little money!!??

so , i have one day there, go to my hotel, find some russians at the beach but get bored very soon so i take a motorbike driver and decide to go to see some neighbouring villages. i drive myself as well, but he brings me to the jungle and while i am driving he starts to touch me so i have to stop. people in sri lanka are like monkeys sometimes, especially men and much more when they are drunken. that night i go to a bar and it is completely annoying to stay there because everybody wants to fuck, what is more, to fuck me. everybody tries to give me marijuana and just fuck. i am very disappointed and exhausted. my friends arrive later. and i am going to leave getting too tired of these strangers. i find tuk-tuk but he brings me to a very dark street instead of my hotel, saying let's fuck! incredible!!! he says, "i fucked one russian girl last week for marijuana. nice fuck. ".so, i insist on my coming back to the hotel, of course but my impression about Sri Lanka, Negombo, is spoiled completely and leaves bad memories.

p.s.this is a short version of my trip! i have got much experience and i am even proud for the things done. people that i met from all over the world, including Nepal, South African republic, Australia, Spain, USA, Japan, China, Germany, Norway, England, Canada, India and, of course, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Malaysia, inspired me to think in this way and expressed admiration of my personality. this is something that always made me feel awake and continue with determination. i felt wild lots of times as well as independent. i was obliged sometimes to take immediate decisions either to survive or to satisfy my curiosity. i made friends and could have free love, i stayed alone and among locals. i was accepted and no one announced me Russian. that was unique! really! i miss it...

p.p.s. this is a true story with my vivid emotions. i never want to offend any person or nationality but these are the people i met.


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 34


Advertisement



4th October 2012

easibook express bus
Hi, I would like to book the bus ticket online. It can check the price and bus schedule for Malaysia, Singapore, and Thailand. I normally will buy the bus ticket online from Terengganu to Negeri Sembilan, Terengganu to Pahang, Terengganu to Perlis, Terengganu to Malacca, Terengganu to Kedah, Terengganu to Kelantan, Terengganu to Dungun, Terengganu to Johor, Terengganu to Selangor, Terengganu to Kuala Lumpur (KL) , and Terengganu to Singapore (Sg) . Im from Kerteh .^^
18th November 2012

Of course it was the most expensive trip you've done: IT'S THE ONLY ONE YOU'VE PAID FOR. Before 2009 you didn't have one stamp on your passport and probably didn't even know what an aircraft was. Until you met a western man, 25 years older than you who made you travel: poor you, good old times when BUSINESS VISAS, FANCY HOTELS AND NICE RESTAURANTS WERE PAID OFF BY YOUR... JOBS... ARE GONE, ARENT'T THEY? Funny how certain type of girls always "fall in love" with men with money. And, don't say you've got experience: people like you will never absorb anything from the world.
27th February 2013

Hi, nice to hear from you after a long long time of silence. How are you? Any news? Still in love? Jobs? Which kind of? And what do you mean by the most expensive trip? Since when did you start taking care of money? I have good news for you actually that you could enjoy a lot but regarding everything written above I am not sure that you deserve it. And... Poor man, you still do not understand and can' t recognize either feeling is sincere or not. Can I be helpful in this case? Should I remind you smth from your past to clarify the difference between true and fake love?

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb