KL how I've missed thee


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
May 28th 2011
Published: June 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Kuala Lumpur is my 1 week stop over before heading to Europe. I usually stop here to see my cousins before either heading off else where in Asia (via budget airlines, which we can then purchase in Malaysian Ringgit to make further savings! Hey, I'm a student and I'm a tight arse) or to break up the long trip to Europe. Most of the week is spent sleeping which I really needed to catch up on and because it was too hot to do anything. I also picked up a few bargains at Mid Valley Megamall but I controlled myself so I can shop when I get back.

Monday night I head over to see the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra at KLCC with Sanjeev. That night was a selection of drum ensembles, a lot of which were student groups. The hall was small to medium sized and that gave a good atmosphere and intimacy. The groups were quite interactive and the smaller hall size really facilitated this. We then went for a drink at a rooftop bar to get a great view of KLCC and the Petronas towers. I had a Singapore Sling which I missed out on last time I was in Singapore.

I was also invited to attend a social hosted by Rotary district for Rotarians and Rotaractors at GAB, a brewery. Good thing I was shopping at Midvalley earlier and bought a pair of trousers as most people were in smart casual and I don't think my shorts would have been appropriate. The food was delicious and I downed quite a few sticks of satay 😊 The beer was also great but I forgot which one was my favourite. I just remember it was a smooth tasting beer that wasn't too bitter. I also saw a lot of Rotaractors I had met up previously two years ago when I visited KL after APRRC Singapore, and those who came to APRRC Sydney. Many were surprised that I was there, so next time when I go back I will publicise it a little better.

Another night I visit the Rotaract Club of Pudu for their meeting. I was surprised that a lot of their members were VERY young, they looked like they were from high school! Actually, they had just finished high school from what I was told. Fellowship at the local restaurant was again delicious with rojak and hokkien mee. I never used to like rojak or bakuteh but must be true what I learnt in Denver, every 7 years our tastes buds change which is why you taste changes.

On my last night I help with a trial run of an event run by the Rotaract Club of Subang, Sanjeev's club. They are holding a massive 100km run through KL to raise money for the StART foundation who help underprivileged children express themselves through art and performance. From what I can see a lot of work has been put in to run a smooth day and all done in 7 weeks which is AMAZING. That night I also try "snowflakes" a Taiwanese dessert and they have shaved frozen tofu. I've never had it before but my gosh it was great! It came with grass jelly and pearls amongst other stuff. Was a great way to end my stay in KL. Too bad I miss the actual event but it was great to be able to help a little during the mock event. I hope the day is a great success!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb