Shoppers Paradise


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 4th 2006
Published: March 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We didn't have many expectations of Malaysia, esp KL as it has been described in previous blogs as a rather dirty and hot city. But we were pleasantly surprised, the streets were clean (compared to Mumbai), it was really hot and humid, but there were numerous shopping centres and public transport was great and cheap! Fortunately for us we were staying in Chinatown, near Petaling Street which was an excellent location, bus and metro routes close by and a hostel who has really helpful members of staff (Wheelers).

I couldn't shop as much as I wanted to as I really can't carry anything else- also we were going overland to Singapore so I didn't really want to go through there with all of my shopping bags!

Guess what.... We found a M & S, I was soo looking forward to having white chocolate chip cookies, but there was no fresh produce only cans : (. They had everyother shop there, Zara, Mango, Topshop, plus the plusher shops Armani, Hugo Boss, Gucci (you get the picture), I'm afraid I will have to wait a few more years til my budget will stretch that far!

We also went to the 42nd floor of the Petronas towers, and took some lovely photos of the city. The two towers, which are high above the ground (sorry can't remember how high), were built in 3 years- amazing, you see when I put the pictures on. I think the UK could use some help from guys on this side!! On our way out, we were caught up in a demonstrations abut what, you'll never guess, the price of petrol- it had gone up but 30Sen. It was all rather peaceful- it was like being back at home!

Today we also went to the Batu Caves, enclosed are 3 Hindu temples. We had to climb 272 steps to get up there ( it felt like 1000!), I was praying that it would be worth it, and it was, although we only managed to see one of them as one was closed and the other one we couldn't find. But we did managed to see a whole group of Monkeys! They were soo cute and human like ( I have never seen a real one before), and they were tiny! We have got some video fottage of them peeling a banana and some great photos.

It was really hot in KL, and hell to walk around in but the shopping malls provided some solace and all the buses were air-conditioned. We got a taxi to the doctors ( Kay got conjuctavitis) and this was reasonable (we think), it was a really lovely city, I think we spent just about the right amount of time there- any longer and I would have surely had to hire a plane to send all my shopping back in!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

In the gardensIn the gardens
In the gardens

Chasing the ducks
In the gardensIn the gardens
In the gardens

Kids in the Park
Batu CavesBatu Caves
Batu Caves

The Monkeys
Batu CavesBatu Caves
Batu Caves

The Monkeys
Batu CavesBatu Caves
Batu Caves

The Monkeys
Batu CavesBatu Caves
Batu Caves

The Monkeys


Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1144s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb