Buses, Towers and Super Sonic Protons


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 25th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Menara Tower from my bedroomMenara Tower from my bedroomMenara Tower from my bedroom

This picture doesn't do this tower justice.
I don't catch many buses these days but I really enjoyed the goings on on the bus to Kuala Lumpur. It was a really comfy bus, with fringed curtains and and deep shag pile and a driver who must have been married to Nora Batty, because the floor was covered in newspaper so the carpet didn't get dirty. I was dropped off just outside KL and so had to catch a taxi to get me to my hotel. Its currently Ramadan here, so it really suprised me that I could get a taxi😊 My hotel was very nice with a fantastic view of the Menara tower, the 4th tallest in the world and the views from it are fab. I really wanted to see the Petronas Towers, and they lived up to all my expectations, despite having to que from 7am. Actually, I met a really nice Philipina lady in the que who insisted I visit her when I'm next over there; you never know I may get to visit her one day.
China town here is a great experience and lots of tasty cheap food, as does little India and the sounds and smells of the Bazar are fantastic. Given
Petronas TowersPetronas TowersPetronas Towers

So these are the guys I used to sell to !!!!
the Ramadan feasts are full on family affairs, I gave one a go and really enjoyed myself - great grub too.
Time to catch another taxi, this time to the airport. 7.30 am, the taxi driver puts my back pack into his boot and I check out of my hotel. There are 2 airports in KL, both over an hour way from the town centre and mine was the furthest away. My taxi driver looked a bit like Peter Sellars in the film he played Foo Man Choo, and after he filled his petrol tank with rocket fuel, we flew up the motor way in driving rain at 170 kilometers an hour..................in a Proton. Nope I wasn't dreaming - a Proton that drove at 170 kilometers per hour. I will never go on another white knuckle ride again.
Anyway having spent a couple of days relaxing Kota Kinabalu, Borneo, in hotel that Lady Mountbatton stayed, I have finally made it into the Raleigh house for my 3 weeks training and setting up the expedition before the ventureres get here. You can catcch the blog and see what we get up to www.raleighborneo.blogspot.com . However, there are few things to deal with here, sleeping in a room with 6 other girlies, the rats in the loft and the monitor lizard that watches us wash our pots in the morning - and 4ft of him. I'm off for jungle training in a couple of days - that's in the jungle - that should be very interesting, so Ray Meers had better watch out!!!!!!!!

Advertisement



25th September 2009

Your adventures
Jilly Willy sounds like your having an amazing time and i am really glad your enjoying yourself. Hope you also had a nice b'day yesterday Take care of yourself Amie xx
25th September 2009

Taxis
Hey there. I'm glad the taxis are better than they are here...where you can't get a taxi during ramadan and certainly not one that does 170 km/h. Glad you made it to the jungle alive. I'd like to see a picture of you swinging from tree to tree, Tarzan style please.
25th September 2009

towers
Dear jill, well you have certainly seen some weird and wonderful buildings on your travels.We had a proton didn't know they could go that fast,bet you were glad to see the airport.We don't have buses as posh as the one you rode in.You seem to be enjoying the food you will have to bring some recipes back.Enjoy your jungle training watch out for things creeping up on you.Take care ,keep well lots of love Dad & mum xxx
28th September 2009

far away places....
Hello Traveller. Sounds like you are having amazing life experiences so far with lots more to come. Glad to see you made the effort with the red nail varnish on the toes just for those fishy pictures...you never know when you might have to exhibit your toes for your public good move!. Only you could end up sitting with nuns on the flight, did they bless your trip because you might need divine intervention when you're trekking through the jungle...maybe Tarzan would be more useful actually. You're obviously already meeting some great people so I don't doubt this won't be your last trip around the world, it's going to cost you a fortune in christmas cards to keep in touch. Take care of yourself Jilly Billy, I'll keep an eye on your jungle mission, have fun and keep the pics coming it's great to see them. Lotsa Love Looby Lou xx
12th October 2009

Oh my god... awesome :P
Oh my god Jill- can't believe you are doing this its awesome :P What inspired this trip then? Will keep reading about your adventure's that make my trips to tesco sound a little lack lustre!!!! lol Although l can think of a few experiences on the wards that compare :P xx Good luck xxxx

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb