Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
April 20th 2009
Published: September 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Penang to KL


Sorry for the long delay in entries..... I am back in Atlanta but I am currently in the process of writing about the last few months abroad in Japan.

So after hanging out with my friend Yeecha and her family in Penang I headed back south to Kuala Lumpur (KL) which is the capital city of Malaysia. I guess my first thoughts about this city date back to when I saw Entrapment with Catherine Zeta Jones and Sean Connery. It was a great movie in which I saw the Petronas Towers for the first time. I had always dreamed of seeing them in real life, they really are the true landmark of KL. My first day in KL was spent walking around and taking in the city. I found a decent hotel to stay at for around $35 for my first night there. I took the train around and went up the KL tower which sits atop a large hill which gives it the best view of the Petronas Towers and the entire city. Simply amazing I must say. Later I would take a train down to the KLCC which is a huge shopping center just below the KL towers. I bought two shirts and a scarf from an eclectic store in the shopping mall and I walked outside to see the towers at night. When you look up at these buildings at nighttime you will be extremely amazed at how beautiful they truly are.

My second day in KL I met up with my friend Mitch from Singapore and we went around the city to check out local shopping areas and we also visited the Petronas Towers at daytime but no tickets left to go up the bridge that sits between the towers. The bridge connects the two towers in midair and is said to have been constructed because the buildings were built by two different contractors as a race to see who could finish first. When the towers were completed, surveyors noticed that one was leaning so the bridge was added a last minute addition to minimize the slanting effect that one of the towers continues to show; honestly I couldn't really tell myself. The tickets to the bridge are free but you must line up early in the morning to get them of course. No shorts are allowed to be worn and each ticket is for a specific time slot through the day. We arrived at the tower a little past noon so obviously we weren't able to get tickets. Later that night we went out to experience some of the night life of KL which wasn't too great but I could handle it.

Tired and a little slow from our night of clubbing we tried to get to the towers to get tickets to goto the the bridge before taking a bus to Singapore but we were shocked to see a line with about a two hour wait. Obviously we wouldn't catch our bus to Singapore in time to see the bridge so we scratched that plan and got a bite to eat before heading to the bus station for our five hour bus ride down to Singapore.

KL is such a dynamic city with a diverse population. I really enjoyed shopping in Chinatown, getting my haircut by an Indian guy in Little India, and having a taste of the cosmopolitan side of the city also. Such great shopping and amazing views of an amazing city. I hope to go atop the bridge of the Petronas Towers next time I am here. 😊



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

A view of KLA view of KL
A view of KL

Looking at KL from the Menara Tower (KL Tower)
At the top of KLAt the top of KL
At the top of KL

Flying over KL
KLCCKLCC
KLCC

Shopping center under the Petronas Towers
Petronas Toers at NightPetronas Toers at Night
Petronas Toers at Night

An amazing view of the PT's.
Petronas TowersPetronas Towers
Petronas Towers

A view at daytime
Petronas TowersPetronas Towers
Petronas Towers

Me at the foot of the Petronas towers.
ObamaObama
Obama

Obama fever hits KL


8th September 2009

welcome home
Willie, Welcome back to the States. I always enjoyed reading your blog entries. Thanks for this one. What a great experience you have had. Hope to see you sometime soon! Rod

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb