Departing the Gold Coast and first night in KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
July 16th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Australia and arriving in Malaysia was possibly the smoothest it could have been. My last weeks in Australia were spent anxiously awaiting my swine flu test results (negative, w0o!) and I was kinda wiggin' out that I'd encounter some problems as they did thermal screening at the airport. But everything was fine.

Saying goodbye to Jacqui and my family at the airport was a lot harder than I expected. It's just full on to think I won't see 'em again for so long. I'm excited and have been itching to travel but it's still way hard to say goodbye. I must have been fragile after it on the flight because we watched Finding Nemo and in the sad parts I felt all teary. Haha, I think Kate saw me and I pulled a "bloody hayfever" one on her 😉. Other things we did to pass the time on the flight included playing "Guess Who", which cost me a dollar from Maccas, and watched the start of The Hangover and Juno on my laptop.

We're staying at the Crowne Plaza in KL and mate is it LUSH. I'm not usually one to go for upmarket digs but I needed somewhere trustworthy that offered Luggage Storage for the two weeks I'm in China from next week and Crowne Plaza ticked all of the boxes. Kate loves it, she's been sipping vodka mixes in the bubble bath while I attempt to work out how to stream music from my laptop through the TV speakers. I'm stumped as it's the first TV I've ever encountered that has absolutely no AV channel. Super lame.

We spent the night walking around the city and looking at the AWESOME architecture they have here. The Petronas Towers are phenomenal. We attempted to head up to the Skybridge but it was like 9pm at night and there was a sign which said it was closed. Other awesome buildings that we saw and snapped included the The Public Bank, The KL Tower, KLCC and our own hotel's got an epic fountain out the front. That's all for now. Peace, x Bugs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



20th July 2009

Missing you
Great to see your photos. Nice hotel. Hope you are having a lovely time in China. Mum

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb