The Petronas Towers and KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 21st 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

JB -> Kuala Lumpur


*Note: This is being written posted about a month later as I've been without internet/electricity some times and just busy other times. I'm not posting much in the way of story to go along with the pictures because more interesting pictures/stories are waiting to be told and I can't skip ahead. I'll do my best to catch up now though!


I arrived into the main train station in Kuala Lumpur on Sunday morning. I'm in need of a shower after the overnight train trip but figure everything is alright because the station at KL has pay showers, right? Wrong! They were closed on Sunday (no one needs to shower then apparently) even though the rest of the station was open. It is a very nice train station, modern with connections to the city's public transit and a regional train system. There were lots of places to eat as well as small shops to look through.

My main reason for stopping here (other than it was a convenient stopping point) is to visit the Petronas (pronounced Petro-Nas, nas rhymes with gas) Towers. They are twin towers that are among the tallest buildings in the world. I believe they were featured in the movie Entrapment, but it could have been a James Bond flick; I really can't remember. Petronas is the state-owned petroleum company for Malaysia. It is free to go up to this skybridge that goes between the two towers at about the 41st and 42nd floors, courtesy of Petronas. You have to watch a cheesy "Look at how great a company Petronas is" video but it was still interesting. Actually being in the skybridge is not as exciting as expected as you can probably tell from the pictures.

Below these beautiful towers is a luxury mall. They had everything you could want there... many, many western stores including all the european and american designers and a ton of restaurants too. Chili's and California Pizza Kitchen both have restaurants here! I bought a rain cover for my pack at an outdoors store and also another lock to help keep things secure.

On the way back to the train station it came a monsoon. This drainage ditch which had previously been totally empty was now very full. I decided to look around chinatown a bit, which you can see in some of the pictures. Nothing too interesting other than the police rounding some people up...

All in all, KL was an okay place to visit. The people were nice, the train station had a left-luggage counter so I didn't have to take around my heavy pack, the towers were pretty. It is really just a huge city though and I was ready to move on when it was time to board my train that night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb