Batu Caves


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
June 8th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I woke up relatively early and readied my roommates from Sweden to go to the Batu Caves, which are on the out skirts of KL. So we where on the public bus by about 10:00 am at a cost of 2 ringgit ($0.75 CAD). Got to the caves which again were recommend by most and I can see why. They were discovered by a British explorer with the past hundred years and quickly became a Hindu shrine. There is a pilgrimage once a year where the whole places is just flooded, luckily that is in January/February. It takes about 270 steps to reach the entrance of the caves. Along the trip up, monkeys swarm the whole area due to the tourist who feed them. Still haven't figured out if they are indigenous to the area or if they came for the easy grub. Some of the local children have no fear as they wanted to pet the monkeys to my horror....disease, flees and teeth ohh my !! I thought I had a great picture of a woman and her daughter looking at a mother monkey and its baby looking back at them, didn't pan out though 😞
After that I headed home read some more of my Tesla bio and got ready for my bus trip tomorrow to the Cameron Highlands. I've been in Asia for just under two weeks and I've scorched myself with the sun and I'm getting a little tired of the noise, traffic and hustle of the city life. CH will be a nice change as it is in the hills of central Malaysia and quite cool, just like ol' Whistler. I'll let you know how it turns out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Up We GoUp We Go
Up We Go

the stairs on the left side are nice and wide for my hobbit-like feet


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb