Killing Time in the KL


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a pretty rough night sleeping at the airport in Hanoi (my flight was at 6am and it takes an hour to get to the airport from downtown so i figured that i didn't want to wake up at like 3am to leave)It was really wierd, everytime i would get comfortable they would make me get up and move like 20 feet down the way, i don't really know why, the airport is really small and there were only a few people there, can't a man rest in piece? After all that nonsense I boarded the plane to leave Vietnam. Can't say that i was too sad to leave. I liked the country and its pretty cheap to stay there, but the crowds that i experienced and the loud honking and choatic driving on the streets kinda got to me after 3 weeks. After a layover in Saigon (HCMC) I had a flight to Kuala Lumpur, which was really nice. Vietnam Airlines is great: Good food. Nice staff and usually pretty empty planes. Getting into KL airport was a bit of a culture shock. The airport was huge and also extremely nice, kinda like a JFK or something like that. Took the train to town on an express train which was again really nice. Found a hostel no problem and set about wandering around town. Had some Macdonalds (My first time on this trip) which was really good and went to sleep early at about 7pm since i hadn't really slept in 24 hours. Haven't really done much here. Walked around a bit, checked out a few mosques and the Petronas Towers (the former tallest building in the world) and got a good view of the city. I tell ya, Malaysians really like to build their buildings tall. everywhere you look there are huge buildings, kinda reminds me of San Fran without all of the hills. Leaving tomorrow for Port Dickson to find a place to stay before the music festival and also work on my tan, I've gotten pretty pale as of late. As always enjoy the pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

sweet Tshirtsweet Tshirt
sweet Tshirt

Tried it on but it almost ripped, i think it was for little kids
Mosque Mosque
Mosque

close to my hostel


Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb