Nearly there....


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So - we are currently in KL (in the KLM Lounge once again availing of the free internet!) on our way back to Amsterdam, there we will have a 34 hour turn around then on a train bound for Paris (on Thursday) where we will stay overnight and fly to Morocco on Friday at Lunch time. Both Jon and myself are experiencing a myriad of emotions, nerves, excitement, anticipation, fear to name but a few. Phuket was a really good time for us both to get our heads in order and really think about why we are doing this, because the last thing you want happening is realising on the second day that you really don't want to be there.

I want to be there- I want to participate - I want to finish! I want the medal!!! (I.m kinda shallow like that - it's all about the silverware)

Jonathan mentioned something to me a few days ago and it has really stuck with me - success is fleeting but failure stays with you forever. (I think a rower said it.......) But it really struck a cord with me, I may not be the fastest runner in the world but as my running partner says (thanks Andrea) always make your distance. I think that is what is going to be my focus - always make my distance, because failure is not on my agenda.

So here we are - training done, going back to pack our gear (I will take photos and upload tomorrow to give you an idea as to the amount of stuff we have to carry) and ready to head off, I never thought last year when I broke a bone in my foot that I would make it this far.

If someone had told me seven years ago that I would be doing this, I would have laughed myself silly - funny how a persons aims and life can change over time (maybe even for the better).





Advertisement



25th March 2008

Chasing the dream
Awesome stuff, I am very impressed by you both and look forward to the photos of you at the finishing line....You can both do it, so keep the faith and may the force be with you, hoo haa!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb