Made it to Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The flight from London on Monday eve, 25th February, was late by about half an hour, but Singapore airlines really took great care of us. I mean those air hostesses and air hosts - just never really stopped being attentive for practically the whole 12 hour flight - ok I was asleep for 6 hours of it (next to two not very smiley, grumpy ozzie women from Brisbane) but I was comfortable, the food was excellent and the staff friendly. Of course jet-lagged and perspiring by the end of it (this is the reality, slightly gritty, travel bit), but my in-flight pamper kit worked a treat (thanks mum) and I managed to keep the make up topped up before the change at Singapore in true Essex style thanks to the mini benefit make-up kit (thanks VOPS team). Watched these films on the flight - Juno, Enchanted and Ratatouille (couldn't face anything remotely deep). When I got to Singapore though, some staff met us coming off the aircraft and said they'd had to rebook me onto a different flight to Kuala Lumpur as I wouldn't make my original one. So....I walked, what seemed like the length of the whole airport trying to get my boarding card transferred from Singapore airlines to Malaysia airlines. Anyway, very pretty airport with lots of smiley, friendly, helpful people (Maplins in chelmsford sold me a 4 GB memory card, found out my camera can only take 2GB so had to buy 2 new cards as the camera refused to work), and areas of 'gardens' with 'koi ponds', fake but very pleasant.

Eventually I got on the flight, an hour and a half later than the original one, not a patch on Singapore airlines either. Anyway, my rucksack was one of the first bags off. I walked from the airport, through some corridors, past palm trees etc to the hotel. The Pan Pacific Hotel is very luxurious. I've got a double room with lovely bathroom and air con etc. Shame breakfast isn't included, was very nice though! I left the hotel around 1pm today and went to the airport to organise my flight to the Borneo part of Malaysia. I booked my flight to Kota Kinabalu airport for tomorrow pm (phew - Air Asia - about 500 ringets - Malaysian airlines was nearly double that) and I also phoned Collette's cousin Ursula, who is kindly going to pick me up from KK airport after she gets out of work.

After all that, I took the train into the city centre (1 change and 45 mins later) I made it into the centre of Kuala Lumpur around 3pm. I've been in the super doper shopping centre in the Petronas twin towers and mooched around - went up 41 floors to the sky bridge - great views - they'd reached their quota of visitors for the day but luckily let me in - must have been the desperate look on my face ;o) I'm now in the internet store which is only 8 ringets for an hour (6 ringets to the pound) compared to about 1.5 ringets at the hotel!

Yes the hotel is a wee bit pricey. But it's very nice and means I do not have to cart my big rucksack around (even though it's on wheels I'm pacing myself these first few days) also it's a bit humid here when you get out of the air-conditioning, and I didn't have to mess around trying to book into another hotel etc etc. Another plus point, there's a spa at the hotel, which I might have
Back on the ground floorBack on the ground floorBack on the ground floor

Yes it's a tad humid!
to have a look at later . . .


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Petronas Twin Towers and Sky BridgePetronas Twin Towers and Sky Bridge
Petronas Twin Towers and Sky Bridge

Sky Bridge is 41 floors up - each floor takes one second in the lift
M&S popular everywhere!M&S popular everywhere!
M&S popular everywhere!

actually I really like this photo - the twinkly lights on the water....


27th February 2008

So did you make it to the hotel spa?
27th February 2008

Well Done
Keep up the good work.
27th February 2008

'"So you've made it"
Hello Mandybee.. ‘So you made it’ ( that’s what Joseph would say if he knew)! Congratulations on the first leg of tour RTW trip!! Fantastic pics, makes me a bit envious! Enjoy it, have fun, and take care. Went out to dinner today with about 50 other people, good tapas , dry white wine from L’rote was quite nice, but I managed to spill my first glass over john!! Pleasant attentive waiter dried up very quickly, though I suspect he must have been swearing under his breath. Chatted to some very nice new people, and 3 others that we know quite well came back with us for drinks. Looking forward to more news Love, Carol xx
29th February 2008

Hi Mandy
Hi Mandy. Glad to hear its all going well. Look forward to hearing the rest of the stories!! Lots of love Janette xxx
1st March 2008

Hi Mandy!
Hi Mandy I'm glad you made it to Kuala Lumpa safely! Look after yourself and make sure you keep us all updated with your latest adventures! xxx
1st March 2008

Wowee
Hey Mandy Pix look great - are you having a ball then? Grumpy ozzies - isn't that like an oxymoron or something? No? Yeah Sing A is fab - BA shld take lessons on how to crack a smile every now and then from those bods. Well onwards and upwards. Enjoy!!
5th March 2008

To Caetlyn and Werner - so did you make it to the hotel spa?
Alas no, it was closed when I got there! Ended up watching cnn and saw all these brits cracking jokes about the earth moving during the earth-quake in the uk last week. Did you get woken up? x
5th March 2008

To Wilks - keep up the good work
Thanks mate
5th March 2008

To Carol - so you've made it
Thanks Carol, glad you like the photos, tapas mmmm, wine oops! x
5th March 2008

To Janette - glad to hear it's going well
Thanks Janette, when are you off to Dubai??? x
5th March 2008

To Louise - hi Mandy
Thanks me dear, what's the next show? x
5th March 2008

To Lavanya - wowee
Thanks luv, glad you like the pics. ha ha yes hadn't met any grumpy ozzies before, always a first time! thanks for the travel blog pointers, it seems to be working well! x

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb