Finally updating!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 2nd 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

(I'm a bit behind in publishing this one since I never completed my blog updates!)

I have just left the chaos of sunday night at Putayara bus station; the bustling hub of transport to and from KL to other parts of Pensinsular Malaysia. It may have been extra busy due to the national holiday weekend.

People pushed past each other and queued or hustled to get into ticket counters, salesmen shouted out the names of places over and over; I managed to distinguish 'Ipoh, Ipoh, Ipoh' but the other locations just sounds like chants.

Muslim Malays, Chinese Malaysians, Indian Malaysians, and tourists, all dressed differently, all bustling to get somewhere.

The foodstalls lined the paths, mostly local savouries, drinks and fruits, but the occasional (and popular) dunkin donut stall as well.

It was such wonderful, yet non threatening chaos, I had to smile.

I have not got used to men staring at my chest yet though! Admittedly I have substitued bikini tops for bras in this stifling heat and humidity (I haven't sweated so much in my life as yesterday and the day before!) and I am wearing sleaveless tops in a majority muslim country (but always skirts and shorts to knee length or below)...it is so hot it is hard to bear covering up more, and the chinese and other tourists dress the same...nevertheless i do certainly attract (again non threatening male attention) and being me I'm just not used to it! As new acquaintance Amir put it the other day, 'the local men really like to and you don't even notice, it's so funny' - now however, I am rather conscious of it, though I think today's bikini top is more obvious that my other one...

Anyway...enough waffling...

After the bus station (which I went to to check where precisely the bus to Penang I shall be getting tomorrow will be leaving from) I bought a drink at a busy corner foodcourt and sat and watched the world go by...the culturally different yet in many respects still similar, and fascinating world that I am currently in.

So...back to the beginning - Melbourne...Singapore...Melaka...Pulua Tioman and Kuala Lumpur...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.029s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb