Did I say five star?


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 26th 2005
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've found myself tonight in KL's China town. The night markets were on last night and the town bustling and vibrant, although smelly. Pooey.
I'm not supposed to be here, actually.
I left Donna and Jodie at KL airport last night for their flight back to Sydney from Langkawi Island, and I made my way into town, armed with Michelle's KL address (but not her phone number, stupidly -  I left that in my diary, which I left with Donna to take home because I'm carrying way too much weight - yes, on my body, but also in my three bags! That's not how backpackers should travel! It's early days, after all, and I'm learning!).
So anyway, a taxi takes me to Michelle's house and there's no one home. Well, no one answering the door, anyway. Could I have had the wrong house? Very possibly. I am to find out today when I meet Michelle at her school.
I got over the intial anger and frustration of the situation and resolved to tackle my very first travelling predicament. No doubt I'll come across many.
I got taxi driver to take me to a cheap hostel and I ended up here. Not a bad night's sleep. Just very steamy and noisy traffic ripping along the road all night long.
It cost me 50 Ringgit - about $16. Not too bad, I thought, but I could have tried harder to find something cheaper. After all, my money's got a loooong way to go yet.
So, I rang Michelle last night once I had settled in my room and she said she had been waiting and waiting for me but I never turned up! So, I guess I had the wrong house. Nonetheless, I'll see her today. She has a bed made up for me and dinner ready! Yeehaa.
Last night in china town was a real shock to the system after 3 days in the SIX star - can I repeat, SIX star Datai hotel on Langkawi Jodie, Donna and I were quite the novelty for the staff in this place. We were the only threesome in resort full of honeymooning couples! We made the most of our time there, sunbaking, swimming, scoffing a seafood buffet (including caviar, which they gave out in spoonfulls) eating massive breakfasts, etc. This place was magic. Thankyou Donna! Our time at the Datai included encounters with feral monkeys who rattle your room doors to try to get in. Probably didn't help that they did get in once, when the girls left the balcony doors open and they went straight for the bananas in the fruit bowl. They left our wallets untouched, though, so at least they're half normal, but feral all the same. We also came across the driver who took us into the shops in town, we know now as Mr Oh-Oh. He frequently used this expression and took a real liking to the very candid Jodie, who he named Miss Sidoney. Donna earned the name Miss Monkey. I managed to avoid a nickname, thank god. Who knows what it might have been. Mr Oh-Oh was a Michael Schumacher fan. The fact that we were running late for our dinner reservation was enough of a reason for Mr Oh-oh to live out a fantasy. He visualised himself in the formula one driver's shoes on our ride back home brazenly ignoring the speed limit. He floored it up the windy roads back to our hotel. We were ready to barf.
However, he was cracking up, and so were we. We get to the top of the hotel drive and the speedo drops dramatically! ''We drive slowly, slowly into hotel now. Slowly slowly,'' he repeated. We agreed our ride home would be our secret and the boss would not find out
Anyway, I'm off to meet Michelle now.
I'll stay with her tonight, then fly to Bali tomorrow arvo to meet Troy. Let's hope I find him!
Internet ischeap here, but time is limited. I'll try to say personal hellos soon,
Bec/Clarky xoxo
Go you bloody good Swannies! Thanks, Jeanette for keeping Donna posted on the game!P.P.S. Go you mighty Tigers! What a rotten time to be away from home

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb