My trip has begun


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
September 23rd 2005
Published: October 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello!
I've finally arrived at Langkawi! I can't believe my trip has begun.
The flight was alright. I was so tired, but a had a restless sleep. After all, how well can you sleep in an economy class plane seat? There were some cool movies playing on our private tv screens, too, including Lords of Dogtown and Mr and Mrs Smith, but after I'd had my sleep and was into the Lords ... by about half an our, it was time to land. Damn.
I arrived at KL airport at 4.30am and it was deserted. I had to wait there for four hours, which gave me plenty of time to get to know my ipod.
I met with Donna and her friend Jodi (a Cronulla girl, who is lovely) and we are now in Langkawi.
It's so great. We don't have to lift a finger, because everyone is happy to carry your bags, give you fresh towels when you go to swim in the pool, bring drinks to you, etc.
One of the dudes carried my santa sack, and you know how big that thing was when I left! I told him it was his colour!
The three of us immediately threw on our cossies, donned our hotel robes, whacked on our caps and swish sunnies and parked ourselves at the pool deck.
The sun tried hard to poke through the overcast sky, then it started pissing down with rain. We did manage to get in a swim first, although the water was like bath water. It's very humid here.
When it rained, we retreated to our hotel room and watched Dukes of Hazzard on DVD. Jodie brought it cheap in KL yesterday.
There are so many monkeys everywhere, all by the side of the roads. And we were told to keep our windows of our hotel room shut, otherwise they would come in and eat our food.
There are buffalos in the paddocks, too.
Langkawi is so lush and green. It has a backdrop of small mountains, and jungle - including rubber trees -fills the foreground.
I'm still charging my camera battery, so haven't been able to take any pictures yet.
I plan to have a bit of a work out in the hotel gym, go for a bike ride to see the locals and get into some serious practice, and swim at the beach over the next couple of days.
The internet here is free, so I'll be in touch again before I leave.
I heard from Michelle in KL. Ahe said it would cost me about AUSD3 to catch a taxi to her place from the airport on Sunday. That's so cheap as it is about a 1 hr drive.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb