The Hardest thing


Advertisement
Published: August 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, as the blog states, waving goodbye at the departure gates, was the hardest thing to do. It's unbearable to wave goodbye and watch others cry because of what you are doing. Not in dissapointment but out of love, respect and the fact that I will be missed. I too will miss my family and of course Carl, madly.
They watched me go through security, set off the alarms and get patted down by the female security guard who insisted in checking and rechecking the bit between the breasts where my bra had a flower...thorough is a more precise description.
Whilst my family watched me from behind being touched up, I stood silently blubbering thinking "what the heck am I doing?!". Do I really need to see the world? Could I not just stay here in England and get on with life. Those thoughts crossed my mind as I waved goodbye for the last time walking out of sight. But sadly the truth is, I want to see the world and all it has to offer. I want to see and experience how people live and survive. If I don't do it I will always wonder....

I had a window seat on the plane and sat next to a young malaysian man who had been working in Barcelona for the last 6 years as a video games develpoer. He was coming home for a three week holiday to see his family and he had bought pictures of Gaudi's architecture he knew his family would love. He said the Malaysians love architecture and showing off their artistic skills. Could be a case of small willy, flashy car? He seemed nice enough.

The 14 hour flight on ex-Ryan Air cattle sheds with wings was an experience in itself. If you have the money, go BA. I'm not a big girl, not tiny either; average - but those seats are made for children! It reminded me of trip around the Bangkok markets a few years ago admiring the stalls when a stall owner came up to me, stretched her arms as wide as they would go and said "It's OK, we do BIG size". Thanks.
Anyway, these seats are made for the seven dwarfs and their other dwarfish friends or very tiny people like Ken and Barbie. I fitted in but my hips definately spread from one side of the seat to the other. They didn't recline far and they were so uncomfortable. I woke up in the middle of the night with pins and needles in my bottom!!!! Plus because I thought I was clever with getting the window seat, I couldn't get out to walk it off, or whatever one does when they get a prickly sensation in their derriere.

14 hours later and I wander in to Starbucks, and I am still here with a 9 hour wait until i fly to Phnom Penh in Cambodia. I'm Killing time drinking mocha and water, attempting to eat a horrificly rock solid blueberry muffin and infiltrate your lives with my absurd ramblings.

So that sums up day one. I'm tired, in shock, jet lagged and jibbering on.

Advertisement



22nd August 2011

hello
You're my hero Jessica Meurice! xxx

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 26; qc: 113; dbt: 0.1109s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb