Oh the Humidity!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur » China Town
September 9th 2010
Published: September 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

How does the song go, “hot, sweet and sticky?” I knew the humidity was coming, its South East Asia, the word humid doesn’t even exist here, the dictionary just says “see air.” Still urban South East Asia has its own brand of humidity. Bangkok, Manila, Kuala Lumpur they all have it. It is smoggy and savory, revolting and refreshing, swampy and succulent. It is sewage, street food, crowds and sprawl. It is a grab bag of Oh Yeahs and WTFs ground, stirred, heated up and smashed over your head for maximum impact.

Today was my first day in Kuala Lumpur or KL as it is more commonly known. As you may have guessed it was hot and humid. I spent nearly 5 hours walking the city. I walked from the Lake Park district to the Petronas Towers and down through the Golden Triangle. KL is a city of fascinating ethic diversity. The Malay, Chinese and Indian influences of its world renowned food are clearly reflected in faces of its people.

It is a good city to get lost in. I didn’t walk for 5 hours on purpose. It just took me a REALLY long time to find my way back to my hostel. I am admittedly terrible with directions. I use maps only to point myself in the general stumble upon direction of my destination. That said KL seems particularly difficult to navigate from the ground level. Even major streets seem to get cut off at the knees by monolithic shopping malls and corporate structures forcing you onto side streets and alleys lined with dirty shops, I dare you foods, and cheap wares. However, I am sure that if you were to ask a KL lifer they would tell you that these streets are the real KL, the true culture clustered into the crevices of the city's glassy facade.

I have a few more days in the city. There is much learn and much to see. Including an intense study of the KL nightlife. It is currently 7pm here. I am planning to make a dinner and drinks plan soon. If I wait a couple of hours maybe it will cool down? Maybe the humidity will lose some of its weight? Silly American. Just have a beer and sweat with a smile.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

043043
043

Petronas Towers
051051
051

KL Monorail
053053
053

This crazy little street leads right to my hostel. Who knew!?


9th September 2010

Sweet
Nice man! Glad you made it safely...already into the thick of it. Have a great time....
9th September 2010

Awesome
Awesome pictures and even better blog. I love that you're just diving right in to the culture, head first. Can't wait to hear more... I wonder if the humitdity there is anything like it is in DC. I imagine it could even be worse. For your sake, I hope the humid season is nearing its end. Enjoy!
9th September 2010

your all grows up, your grows up and grows up. the devil in me wants to write about your college but the season is long so...well baby cal is crying so i'm off
10th September 2010

Proud!
Loved your blog! As always, love always,your "Biggest Fan" Mom.
10th September 2010

oh man this is a great read! i hope you can update like every day, but i know that's not possible. know that we're all waiting for your posts though.
10th September 2010

It doesn't happen often but when the KL area gets a great 1- or 2-hour afternoon downpour, the rest of the day would feel pleasant. One of the most popular night spots in KL is the Jalan Alor/Changkat Bukit Bintang area. Alor has a whole lot of street foods and CBB has restaurants frequented by expats and tourists. Some folks who have covered SE Asia say that KL doesn't have the character that other SE Asian cities have. What do you think?
10th September 2010

humidity
Humidity becomes a touchstone. When you're away from it for a while and then return - stepping out into it brings a rush of all the past great times and then a flood of the endless possibilies to come. Great writing!! Enjoy the ride.
12th September 2010

Hello anonymous
I enjoyed KL. It is an interesting city, however, it is still fairly new on the world stage, so I would have to agree with the reviewers, I dont think it has quite caught up to HK and Bangkok in terms of character.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb