FLYING, AIRPORTS, FREEZING & A BIRTHDAY


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
September 17th 2009
Published: October 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

So when we left Borneo we flew the short journey from Kuching to Singapore, as usual we had managed to find a fantastic price for cheap flights with Air Asia!

Chiangi, Singapore Airport has got to be one of Dan's favourite places on Earth!! He absolutely loves the place. This might have something to do with the fact its usually pretty quiet when we pass through, there are free cinemas, its spotlessly clean and a shower is a pleasure there, you can grab a massage chair, a spa bed, or a completely reclining bed to sleep on and you can get great healthy Chinese food to eat instead of the ususal crap on offer.

We were strapped for cash as usual and could stretch to a couple of steamed chicken buns and the asked for hot water for our pot noodles and the kind lady gave that to us free!!

We watched Michael Clayton(George Clooney) and we loved it.

Tried to get some sleep but as everyone knows, I always moan about being too cold so although I had three layers on, including merrino wool, t-shirt and a fleece I was still freezeing, I read whilst Dan snored, but in the end I decided If I fell asleep I would probaly die of cold so I went to watch the news in Manadrin. Dan woke up and panicked that I had gone, but soon found me! Eventaully I got to sleep, but the chairs were just that little bit too shallow to get really comfy in so I kept doing that horrible sleeping jump and then i got dripped on by the air con so I decided to drink hot water to warm up( and stay alive)

So not the most glamourous nights ing Singapore but a bloody cheap one!!

Our next destination from Singapore was Auckland, we had decided quite some time earlier that a visit to Zew Zealand was not right for this trip, we had hardly any money left and frankly it would be so bloody cold that we wouldn't enjoy ourselves. We resolved that we would have had to stop there to get to Rartonga anyway so didn't feel too bad about a wasted flight.

The flight was pretty bumpy in places and although Dan copes with flying much better these days, turbulance is not something he enjoys!!

I don't care what anyons says, I love flying , its a huge part of your travels and should be enjoyed to the max!! You get the most amazing views over The Earth, you get to fly over huge mountain ranges and across great expanses of Sea, desert and jungles it is too easy to slepp through it all, stay awake whilst its light and if you have a good view make the most of it. I think its amazing!!

What is aslo fabulous is great amount of food and drink you can get on tap throughout the flight. I don't care I am totally one of those people who willask for seconds, if they are stupid enough to come past me with baskets of extras I will grab whaever I acan reach reach!! I think I got extra bottle of wine, baps, sandwiches, snickers, crisp and cakes as well as the full two meals. I was bloody starving and I can't tell you how much i enjoy plane food!!When the more traditional western options turned up, I think it was something like tortellini and lasagne i could litterally have thrown a party!!The flight to Auckland was about 9 hours and I think I watched every movie and ate and drank everything that came past me, great flight!!

Getting to Aukland very late at night meant that we cleared imigration and then found the nearest rest area to sleep for the night before checking in at 5.30 am. The first rest area was cold, but the second after we had checked in was beyond a joke, everything was so expensive we had to hunt around for soemone to give us free hot water again, we did manage this, but we just couldn't get any sleep as it was far to cold, another fantastic overnight in the airport then. Can anyone tell me why the airport is so cols, it was Auckland in winter so why is there no heating? Everyone had layeres and layeres of clothes on and knees high boots and scarves etc ti all seemed very strange coming from 35 degrees c and 95 percent humidity!!

Eventually we were alloed on the plane with all the Kiwis off on their hols and loads of people who were getting married , it was also my birthday, but we couldn't get upgraded, boo hoo. Ther are worse ways to spend your birthday than being waited on hand a foot, stuffed with both food and wine and getting to see all the movies you want, it was cool!!

Also as we were crossing the international dateline on our crossing from NZ to Raro at meant that time time went backwards and I got another birthday meaning that Dan moaned at me constantly that this made me 33 not 32, it is such a xxxxer at times!!!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb