"Where have my fruit trees gone? I am dying!"


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sarawak » Kuching
May 25th 2018
Published: May 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My cousin Eric sent this to me yesterday on Whatsapp. He saw it on Facebook.

This is such a tragedy. Not only has human greed in Borneo destroyed the habitat and food supply for thousands of primates, bears, leopards and other mammals down to the tiniest Tree Shrew, but also for fish, insects, reptiles and birds.

Palm oil is used in the manufacture of so many things that we use unknowingly every day; but we do not need to use it. There are alternatives. However, it is cheap to produce (fast-growing and easily harvested using cheap labour). Please look in your larder and fridge now and see what is there that has palm oil in it. Throw it in the bin and don't buy that product again.

The Palm oil Barons do not even care that they are destroying our own habitat. The Equatorial Rainforests are the lungs of the world.

Right, now I shall get off my High Horse, having said my bit for the next generation and those to come, and go out to enjoy our last day in Kuching!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb