Walking in Kinabalu National Park and diving around Sipadan


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah
October 6th 2010
Published: October 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had been planning to climb Mt Kinabalu, but the first trip got cancelled and then the airline left my luggage containing my walking boots at Mulu. Traipsing around a mountain in flip-flops however didn’t seem a terribly bright idea, and since my time was limited because I had another flight to catch to go to Sipadan I decided to explore only the more accessible areas of the park, followed by a dip in the hot springs of Poring...


Jacques Cousteau said about Sipadan, “Now we have found an untouched piece of art”. That was over 20 years ago, and it has since become one of the most famous dive sites in the world. Thankfully there are now strict regulations in place to prevent damage from "over-diving" and you need to apply for a day-permit to visit the island. I was fortunate enough to get three.

When I was a child I used to dream I could fly, which sparked a yearning in me to be able to effortlessly glide over mountains and valleys. Diving comes pretty close. And diving in Sipadan is a dream in itself. The shimmering blue of the water, fishes the colours of jewels, coral reefs like fairytale gardens, and turtles everywhere... I am not eloquent enough to describe my diving experience. All I can say is, that diving around Sipadan was sheer and utter bliss...

I stayed at a resort on Mabul, a small island about 20 minutes from Sipadan by boat. One of the nice things about diving is that you always meet like-minded people and that it's easy to make friends. And the blue sky, the heat made comfortable by the gentle breeze from the sea, the friendly faces around me and of course the wonderful diving made me feel at home after only a few days. I would happily have stayed a lot longer, but I had an appointment to keep with some furry friends...


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Mt KinabaluMt Kinabalu
Mt Kinabalu

the view from my room...
sea snakesea snake
sea snake

the sea snakes spend the night underneath the jetty and Brett, my dive-buddy and I went there every evening to take pictures of them. They have a nasty venom but are pretty placid...
the rescued kittenthe rescued kitten
the rescued kitten

I found him half-dead in a sink at the dive shop. Of course I had to take him in and after a few days of eating only the best fish and meat, sleeping in my bed and a lot of TLC he went to a good home... And I still miss him :(
the village behind the resort...the village behind the resort...
the village behind the resort...

tiny huts and not even running water...


9th October 2010
a whitetip shark

Wow
Just so beautiful
11th October 2010

Aewsome girl...
J, Your pictures are fabulous. :). So much love from Pasadena and Hawaii, rosemary.
28th October 2010
an improvised fishing net on a bed...

hello
Hi Juliane, Linda stood here at the side of me showing me what to do!!!!!! Hope your having a lovely time. Don't like to text you too often in case it costs you lots to retrieve! Sending you all my love, and think of you often. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb