Mount Kinabalu (29-30 Apr 13)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
April 29th 2013
Published: April 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Low's PeakLow's PeakLow's Peak

4095.17m. Caught a glimpse of it peeking out through the clouds.
A two hour van ride later, and I'd arrived at Kinabalu National Park, in the cool highlands. Pretty much everyone who comes here, is here for the big guy - Mt Kinabalu, of course. Some are here to climb all 4095.17m of it, some just to hike the many trails of the National Park, which incidentally is over 700 square kilometres, or about the size of my home country Singapore!

Several years ago I had the opportunity to plan for a trip to climb the mountain with a couple of friends, but for reasons that I no longer remember, and which were probably meaningless, I ended up not going for the trip. It's not really something that's stuck in my mind, but of course I can't help thinking about it now that I'm here, and still not climbing! One rather poignant fact though is that one of those friends who did end up climbing, was also the same one that I mentioned in one of my earlier blog entries last year, She'd passed away from cancer at the age of 31, a young mother of two boys. RIP Shufen.

Spent a couple of hours in the park, just enjoying the cool climate, and of course the natural environs, and reading about the flora, fauna and rock formations of the region. There isn't all that much more to do around here, so it'll probably just be a quick overnighter, before I head onwards to my next destination.

Stayed at D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View from D'Villa GuesthouseView from D'Villa Guesthouse
View from D'Villa Guesthouse

Visions of the beautiful Cordilleras all over again.
Mt K Natural History GalleryMt K Natural History Gallery
Mt K Natural History Gallery

Lotsa rocks, and, as LP describes, "graduate level" write-ups.
Simau TrailSimau Trail
Simau Trail

One of the many in the park.


Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb