The climb


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Mount Kinabalu
January 10th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tue 9th
Apprehensively I met the others for breakfast at 8am. I found out that 2 had dropped out of the climb and so it was now just Dee and I doing the summit trail. The others all got in the buss and off they went to do the 8km Mesilau trail. So with Dee as my private guide we set off. She gave me 2 invaluble peices of advice. Go really slow- even on the flat bits and take really small steps. As most of it is large stairs it ment finding boulders to use as half way steps. It was 6km to the overnight rest house and 1382mt climb ending at 3272mts above sea level. There were 8 rest huts along the way and I only sat down to rest at these. I was very slow- leaving at 9/05am and arriving at 3.50 -about the same time as the others from the longer trail but it was worth being so slow as I didn't really struggle just plodded slowly on. My I-pod was a huge help- thanks Paul.
It only rained for about an hour of the walk and not to hevy- the other seemed to get more on their trail.
Dinner followed by an early night before the summit tomorrow.

Wed 10th
2am woke up - to a clear sky ready for 3 more KM to the summit. I however decided not to go- I was worried about my knee coming down the steep paths. So I saw them on their way and went back to bed. I arrose at 5.30 to watch the sunrise froim the lodge to torrential rain. I hoped the others had climbed above it and was glad that I was still dry. No sunrise so back to sleep untill 7am when I waited wearing all my warm clothes inside- they must have been cold waiting for the others to return. Dee was with me as she is recovering from pnunmonia, she was worried about them as the torrential rain had caused big rivers across and down the paths.
They all arived back safe but wet and disheartened as they didn't reach the top or get out of cloud to see the sunrise. I was very glad I din't go.
After breakfast we all made it back down the mountain (still raining). it took me 3 and a half hours which wasn't to
Meeting DavidMeeting DavidMeeting David

he had climbed to longer path and this is were the 2 paths met.
bad. I couldn't have done it with out 2 poles taking most of the weight as I stepped down the big steps. My knee survived and doesn't seem to bad but it saved me from a very wet climb.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Me, Pingi, his son and MelindaMe, Pingi, his son and Melinda
Me, Pingi, his son and Melinda

(sorry about the rain on the camera lens!)


Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb