Around KK


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
January 27th 2013
Published: March 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in KK after an overnight in the KL airport. This time, luckily, I was in the nice lounge so I had a bench to sleep on on the fifth floor. I got up there at 1030pm and I got the last one. I thought I was going too early, considering all the noise and chaos still around. Fortunately, it and the loudspeaker announcements subsided by midnight.

Arriving in KK was fairly easy. I got a pre-paid taxi from a window in the airport. 30 RM gets you an air conditioned lift into the city and no funny business from the drivers. I took a nap for a few hours before heading out to scope out the city. Since it was Sunday many things were closed. But I could at least figure out where things were, when they opened, etc, for the next few days. It doesn't seem like there's a lot to do besides going out to the islands or up to the mountain.

Around 6pm, a British guy and I headed up to the viewpoint to watch the sunset. The colors were stunning, but unfortunately the buildings are all one storey too tall and make it less than spectacular. But a slightly obstructed sunset is still better than no sunset at all.

We went down to the wet market for dinner. Dozens of vendors sell the fresh catch of the day. They've got everything from fish to prawns to crabs, lobsters, sting rays to squid. You can choose what you want, bargain the price, and then they prepare it however you want. We visited serveral before we decided where to eat. The guy in charge (I'm guessing the fisherman, but I'm not sure) was friendly, not pushy, and willing to show us the gills of the fish, even asking my friend to smell them. We took advice from some helpful locals already eating there and decided on a 800g Kerapoha fish prepared sweet and sour style and a large quantity of jumbo prawns smothered in spicy sambal sauce. We ordered two large, fresh juices, too--since small never seems to be enough--and got blender-sized drinks! This was one of the best meals I've ever eaten. But it was so big, I have no idea how we finished it all!

Not surprisingly, I went back a second time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Our dinnerOur dinner
Our dinner

Sweet and sour fish and spicy sambal prawns
He posed like this, I didn't ask him to.He posed like this, I didn't ask him to.
He posed like this, I didn't ask him to.

It was so good I went back a second night.


Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 78; dbt: 0.205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb