Kota Bharu to Penang (Pinang)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang
August 9th 2006
Published: August 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Me and My PigMe and My PigMe and My Pig

My Chinese sign, the Pig, Year of the pig 2007....
3rd August
The bus turned out to be OK. No water and sauage in a roll as in Thailand, but the bus was reasonable, comfy, and it made a couple of stops en route. It was a bit of guess work to realise that it was a comfort stop, driver just got out and left the engine running for air con. You had to assume cos you were at a cafe that this must be a comfort stop. The first time was lunch and it made me realise how easily kids learn from their parents/siblings, first of all I went in the 'Mens' by mistake, ah well, past having any dignity. Then I watched what everyone else did for their lunch and drink and where they pay etc and followed suit. Second time was just a looe stop and I couldn't beleive they were charging 20cents for some sheds at the back where the door didn't even shut. Here I am surrounded by these small silken clad women in headscarfs, who appear so feminine, like Princess's, and seem ageless, as they all wear same outfits. One of the younger ones giggled when she saw the incredulous look on my face.
Bus from Kota BharuBus from Kota BharuBus from Kota Bharu

Not as bad as I expected, good value for the distance..

Quick note here for Brad, I haven't actually seen the Malaysian women, in a sense, most of the ones I have seen are wrapped up in these scarfs and some even have face covered. In my opinion the Thai women were mostly very stunning. Get yourself, and 'Kings' Mark over there, its cheap as chips too.

Back on the bus, just listen to my music and watch the scenery speed by, which for nearly the whole 8 hours, was awesome, mountains and lakes, winding roads that went up and up passing many trucks of logs. Pretty much until we almost reached Butterworth then it gave way to flat landscape, very industrial. We then drove over the long Penang Bridge(13.5KM), which was quite something. I was really excited and looking forward to Penang, the leaflets I had got from Tourist Information made everything look straight forward.
That was my mistake, to have expectations. I was quite shell shocked when I first arrived and my first impressions were not good. The hotel, which is middle range, looks very impressive in reception, but the rooms are in need of some care and attention. The window has been completely blacked out, so I
Penang BridgePenang BridgePenang Bridge

Taken from the Komtar, behind glass, so a bit blurred
feel like I am in a cupboard, cannot see out, and feel strangely cut off from the world, can't even see what the weather is doing. Carpet has cigarette burns and a notice at the lift saying 'do not spit' makes me feel dubious. The shower in bathroom looks like its seen better days. I dropped my things and went straight out past the sour faced reception and headed for the nearest bar. I met an Ozie guy who had arrived the day before, he was supposed to meet a friend, his mate didn't show and he so hated it, he booked a flight out the next day. He was supposed to be staying in asia for another 3 weeks. While at the bar, I found out that my hotel has a small swimming pool, and upon later inspection find that there is a good shower there too, so will have a swim and use that shower.
The next day I pulled myself together, put it down to being travel weary.
However it took me all day to get around some of the sights, like the Komtar, the prominent Penang landmark which apparently houses Government Departments and has a view
Famous KomtarFamous KomtarFamous Komtar

Mainly government building, view area under renovation
tower on the 55th floor with panoramic views of Penang (the restaraunt/viewing area was being restored, so walk around the rubble). The Botanic Gardens,which was beautiful, reminded me a little of Kew gardens. There were monkeys running around though,which was a bit scary. Batik Store, selling the hand crafted batik items. I wasted alot of time going round and round in circles. Also found myself in a couple of enormous shopping Malls, (which had lovely air con.) Either the locals don't know their way around or they have fun mis-directing you. Ha Ha. Good job I am a determined little soul, and got there in the end, really pleased with myself that I kept my patients and persisted. My hotel, I have noticed, is in the heart of Georgetown, near Little India, smells are strange, and Indian men folk have a habbit of staring, they also don't appear to be very healthy, either sniffing, sneezing or coughing and spitting. Yulk.. Also noticed some gorgeous scantly dressed girls on the street corners as I walked out later. Tomorrow is another day......
As it happens, another day spent battling it out, I have realised why people here look me up and down,
Botanic GardensBotanic GardensBotanic Gardens

Mum, Yvonne, Lemanda, would def be impressed with this place
like I am some sort of Alien, not only is it out of season but its cos I am BIG, one of the Trishaw drivers put me right, saying because I am big I may make his Trishaw wobble, which was fine, cos I was not in need of a ride. I had previously had a little ride in one, I felt sorry for the poor old dear and a little nervous about the traffic hurtling by. Not feeling so tolerent today, but have walked to the Museum, which for 1 RM was very interesting, and Fort Cornwallis, which was built on the site of Francis Light's historic landing in 1786.After some hassels, booked a day trip out of Georgetown for Sunday and booked my bus ticket for Tuesday to Cameron Highlands. While walking around these sites, I noticed there are many many Jewellers, especially on Campbell Street, also some beautiful silks and Batik.
Apparently Penang which is a mixture of Indian, Chinese and Malay culture, got its name from the Penagu Tree, first known as Tanjung Penagu (cape of Penagu). Locals call it Pinang (pee nang. Before the 18th Century it was orig called Pulau Kesatu (single Island). The
Monkeys after foodMonkeys after foodMonkeys after food

Just like the seagulls, people will feed them, then they expect food from everyone.
tree appears on the Flag and apparently the Betel nut from this tree can be used 'powdered' for getting rid of tapeworms and any other internal parasites.
With all the mixed cultures it is very much a mish mash of dress style, religion and building styles, and I get the feeling that they resent tourists, maybe also because its out of season. There are some disputes going on with Taxi drivers, apparently they are refusing to use meters, and I was told they were on strike yesterday. The trouble is, without the meter, they charge what they like and you have no comparisons, but basically they are not happy bunnies. One taxi driver was telling me that Penang is ruled by a board of Govenors, and things have to be passed by the Board. (Probably something like the Board Directors of Milklink).
Sunday 6th Aug
Today was much more relaxing and fun, easy. Good to get out of Georgetown and see some of the posher areas, with enormous hotel complexes and houses that could be mansions. I was Picked up from my hotel in mini bus, along with four Chinese people, only one of which could speak a little English. We had fun though, I made faces and gestures and we got by, one of the women even wanted to take me back to China, we especailly had a giggle over lunch, which was Chinese, at the YMCA. Fabulous lunch and my new friends made sure all the plates were cleared, except mine, as I couldn't manage another mouthful, much to their amusement. We guessed ages and I correctly guessed their relationship to each other. As well a grand lunch, we started off at Penang Hill, had a train ride up on the cable carriage, 2730 ft above sea level, terrific views and cool. The train has been in operation since 1922 although carriages were updated in 1977. I had quite a fright when I was taking a picture of the train, heard a strange noise and looked up, only to see one of those blasted monkeys just above me, did I jump!!, it was too close. We then went to the Goddess of Mercy Temple, also high on a hill and one of the oldest Chinese temples in Penang, built in 1800. This is also being renovated, with huge Pillars of carved concrete which were shipped over from China
Shop & watch a showShop & watch a showShop & watch a show

Shopping malls are enormous, often attached to Larger Hotels
and a cover is being put over her, to protect her from the elements of Sun and Salt air (to be completed by 2008). The gardens here were nice too, with stone statues of Chinese star signs, a fountain and huge goldfish. After that its a bit of a blur, spice shop, with tasters, Botanic Gardens again, (greenhouses mostly still shut), Batik Factory, oh en route we saw a car being Blessed, (with sort of confetti). Lastly we stopped at the reclining Budha, Huge Golden Budha lying down. Here, there were also different statues for each Chinese star sign (mine, year of Pig, piccy attached).
After a good day I said goodbye to my new friends, asked the driver how to get to the beaches tomorrow and later managed to find out that if I turn right from my hotel, I am actually quite close to the sea and found a nice restaraunt. (takes a few days to settle in, then time to move again, haha).
Monday 7th Aug
Thinking I would have a relaxing day at the beach today, I got back to my hotel exhausted. I got the bus which went on for an hour stopping and starting,
Trishaw to shopsTrishaw to shopsTrishaw to shops

When they weren't taking passengers they would be asleep in it!!
and the bus was packed, when I say packed I mean, people standing and still more were getting on. I couldn't even see where I was most of the time. When I got to the beach I had a go at Paragliding, a fabulous 5 mins. I had to run along the beach and the boat pulled the rope, then I was up. Went round in a circle, it was amazing. Did have a bit of a crash landing on the beach though. Apparently I didn't pull hard enough, and the wind changed (at least it was a soft landing). Must have looked really funny!!. After a swim to wash sand off and walk along the beach, it bloody well rained!!. All in all not the restfull day I was expecting, with jet ski-ing, fishing and horse riding going on, every few meters, someone touting for you to have a go.

Overall, Penang has been a struggle, I feel like I have got more used to it now, even used to the Indian men, I just stare back now, and the receptionist seems to have lost her sour look. There is quite alot I haven't seen, around the island,
View from Penang HillView from Penang HillView from Penang Hill

Nearly dropped the camera in fright when a monkey was spotted just above me
but I am not that concerned, I think I am ready to move on tomorrow. See what Cameron Highlands has to offer. I have not had any replies from the emails I have sent to book a room. So no room booked, but hey, I can cope...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Cable trainCable train
Cable train

First opened in 1922, new carriages in 1977
Goddess of MercyGoddess of Mercy
Goddess of Mercy

Also high on a hill, work in progress to cover her, protect her from the elements, completion 2008.


9th August 2006

Spit
If noticed that if you look them in the eye, they have this sour look on their face and then spit as they don't like the westeners looking at them, you'll see lots of signs around saying no spitting / hawking. Best thing I found is do the same back and it leaves them looking really sour! Sounds like you're having a great time and enjoying reading the blogs, keep 'em coming. Love Pete Ps. When are you in Wellington, NZ?
10th August 2006

Really?
I didn't know you were a little piggy! Glad you are enjoying yourself. Stay safe. XX
10th August 2006

Hi Lor, don't forget to try the all famous real satay in M'sia.
10th August 2006

everwhere in the world has a little india !!
hi honey, oh god ! i am loving being home and no one laughing at me for being big ! i can't believe how many big people there are in england ! and new look are even selling big bras and pants :-) ... you are not even big. Hang on in their love, its hard !!!!!!!!!! I have no idea why the Indian men stare so much !! But its very intimidating !! take care and well done..i know you are very brave and sensible. lots of love paula xxx
12th August 2006

Good on ya!
Hi Lorraine, I don't know how you are managing to keep updating your blog with all this stuff going on, you must be mad!!! Sounds like you are getting on really well, wish I had time to read all of your stories but you just do too much, I can't keep up! Keep smiling x

Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb