George Town Art Walk


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
December 20th 2014
Published: March 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

George Town has an art walk. Not a little one, either, mind you. It's big. Bigger than I had anticipated. And it's also a great way to spend an afternoon.

My friend got a map of it at her hostel, but you can also get a map at the tourist office. The art walk is all over the city, featuring both painted works of art and also sculpture. Many are interactive and people pose with them for photos. (Which makes it difficult if you want to take a photo of JUST the art--it confused a lot of other tourists! "You're not running to stand next to it... so you must not want a photo?") It was as much fun to see people pose with the art as it was to see the art. Finding the pictures was a bit of a challenge at times, too, since some are tucked down little alleys and there's other art not featured in the brochure.

When in doubt, follow the crowd. It's a good way to see much of the city. We did our walk on a drizzly day, and discovered there's few places to avoid the rain. And, of course, only one of use had an umbrella. (Mine... was in my car.) We were cold and damp by the time we ate (the only way to use a bathroom) but it was well worth it. It was a memorable way to enjoy George Town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

I only got half of this oneI only got half of this one
I only got half of this one

In my haste to take a photo without 5 tourists I didn't know, I snapped it quickly, accidentally leaving out the red cart to the right. There was food on the cart, if I remember correctly.
Haha!  He missed.Haha!  He missed.
Haha! He missed.

But only because he's a painting. I have no doubt that the real Bruce Lee could kick my ass.


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb