George Town, Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
August 7th 2014
Published: August 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I had heard so many conflicting things about George Town before I went there. Actually scrap that, I'd heard so many conflicting things about Penang in general! So I was wondering whether or not to bother going there - I'm so glad now that I did!



You can get to George Town by land or by taking a short ferry ride - I'd recommend a ferry ride. It's cheap and if you come via land then you get dumped down in one of the most unscenic parts of the town. It doesn't give a great first impression.



I stayed in House of Journey hostel which was amazing - I really recommend it, they are super friendly. Though the air conditioning in the dorm was a bit too cold for my liking (I'd actually read that from other people commenting on HostelWorld, so hopefully at some point they'll turn it down). Anyway, it's very nicely decorated, when I arrived there they gave me a slice of cake AND it's right in the centre of the prettiest part of town. What's not to like?



There's not a whole lot to do in Georgetown, but that's not the point. The point is waking up, eating nice food, finding a spot in one of the gazillion cafes, ordering an iced coffee and chilling the day away, then heading out to dinner for more great food. With the odd trip to other spots on the island to change things up a bit. It's all about the cafes, which are really cute, and the pretty-as-a-picture town.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb