BITTEN BY A RAT IN PENANG


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 21st 2014
Published: March 3rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

I was in Penang when l was attacked by a rat. It was a few years ago, in the Year of the Rat, and l was hoping it was a lucky sign.

I didn't manage to win the lottery but l did survive the rat bite which most people would think is pretty lucky in itself.

l say attacked because l honestly don't know what l did to provoke it. I was in Penang's main town of Georgetown, a UNESCO World Heritage Site because of it's remarkable colonial architecture & unique townscape.



I have always liked Penang, even after the rat bite, it has a great atmosphere, a comfortable fusion of Chinese, British & Malaysian cultures. It really is like nowhere else, it's uniquely charming, cultured & relaxed. And if for no other reason, it is worth going just for the food. Home to the best laksa anywhere in SE Asia, and the possible place of its origin.



Penang is also known as the Pearl of the Orient & is off the north west coast of Malaysia. It became a British trading port in 1786 and was the first British colony in SE Asia. The town was named after George lll, the mad king george, and a fort was built & still stands there. The drains in most of the streets in Georgetown are open, and rats are always prevalent around Asian ports, or any ports. I was dodging traffic & walked close to the drains when the culprit rodent attacked.



l am guessing l may have stood on its tail, generally they are not aggressive creatures. Its teeth had punctured my foot and I immediately headed for a farmasi ( pharmacy) & was advised to go directly to a klinik (clinic) to see a doktor (doctor). He was a Chinese doctor who gave me a tetanus shot and a prescription for antibiotic medication & antibiotic creme for the bite. It wasn't for several days later when regaling my latest travel tale to a young Scotsmen, that it was pointed out that l maybe should have had a rabies shot. I had shown no signs of rabies, no frothing at the mouth. Apparently once signs appear, it is already too late. Needless to say, l survived. And some would say l was very lucky.
This year is the Year of the Horse and I was born in the Year of the Horse. So it is believed to be a lucky year for me by the Chinese. I am hoping for a lottery win so l can travel farther afield. The Chinese Horse is a noble symbol of transportation so maybe it will carry me further. Regardless of how l get there, l look forward to returning to Penang.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb