Popular Penang


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
February 8th 2013
Published: May 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

The British has colonized half of the world and I seem to be following its footprints from UK, India, Singapore and now Penang.



Penang is an island off the mainland of Malaysia formally ruled by the British (There is a fort called Fort Cornwalis and not many of us want to remember him in India). It was the only holiday option for me and my friend as we were travelling during the busy Chinese New Year. The overnight bus journey almost froze me and I did all sorts of things (inserting paper chits from the ticket into the A/C veins) but no change. I thawed finally when we landed in Penang. We stayed with friends and the view from 33rd floor was simply magnificent. Gurney Drive is a smaller and quieter version of Marine Drive (Mumbai) but with all the fun. There were families with cute Chinese/Malay children blowing bubbles in the air, eating delicious Chowmein and many were frantically chasing behind a celebrity. We discovered he was Malay PM who was visiting Penang( Heard that they had been paid as he was not ‘popular’ in Penang). I bought a nice dark blue dress from Mango too and can’t wait to wear it. The hike on Penang hill was very steep. My friends were much older than me and scampered up the hill like rabbits. I tried to give all sorts of reason to my slowness but could not hide the truth which was simply fitness. I decided we need to go together on ‘Even Ground”. So took a trail which passed through the forests, over waterfalls with cicadas and monkeys for company. There was even a train station and we could hear the train from far. How I wished I was in it! Towards the end of the journey we followed the railway track up the hill. The view from the top was worth all the effort!



The next day, we visited the old clan houses of Peranakan families (mixed Chinese and Malay). A lot of pomp and show of wealth. It was interesting to see the architecture including the tiles on the floor which were similar to old British houses in India. The jewellery designs were also very similar to Calcutta designs but more elaborate and richer. It was a hot day and the cold Chocolate drink was heaven sent. We ended the evening in the Red Garden with the Orchestra singing Happy Chinese New Year songs in full blast along with an Ambra drink(some juice), chicken satay and my favourite chomein. It was delightful to see my friend enjoy the squids. Happiness glowed on her face.



We discussed art and painting in one of the evenings enjoying the sea breeze over a glass of wine/tap water (tap water was mine J). I learnt how black is used to show heavy emotions and how effort is shown by detailed painting of torso muscles. The sky was lit with fireworks. It was exciting to spot them suddenly; here and there and imagine the spectacle and celebration on the ground; with children screaming their hearts out at the successful launch of rockets into the skies and parents cautioning children to be careful! Indeed, this time of the year, the world is closed to anyone but family. No shop in Chinatown is open and people at the clan houses, warmly invited us for lunch when we went sight-seeing! It is the time to connect. As I see new places, I find more similarities and less differences. Perhaps, it is all in the genes. Finally, we are all homo sapiens J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb