The Streets of Georgetown


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Penang » George Town
March 16th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have just spend three pleasant nights in the city of Georgetown on the Island of Penang, still in Malayasia. The city was founded as a British trading fort in the 18 century, as a result there are still numerous vestiges of its colonial foundation. However, to keep things interesting the city also has a large Malay, Indian and Chinese population, so with every corner turned, one is not really sure as to what he or she will find.

I spent the past two days doing the usual tourist stuff. I found a self-guided "Heritage of Penang" walk that takes one to all the historical buildings and provides a brief explanation of each. I also took time to tour Fort Cornwallis, which has been turned into a museum with a number of interesting displays. This fort has the notable distinction of having never been breached . . . the fact that it has never actually been attacked being just a minor detail. Then, yesterday I made it to Penang hill, the 800 meter trip to the summit being provided by an interesting rail system that is built to go almost straight up the hill. After being disgorged at the top from the 30 minute ride, I was greeted with a stunning panorama of the city of Georgetown and the Straight of Melacca.

I have quickly learned that in the tropical climate to siesta through the afternoon. From about 12-3 in the afternoon it is ridicously hot, so I take a nap and read for a bit. Even in the evening, just sitting and reading leaves me bathed in sweat, so trying to do anything in the afternoon is fruitless at best. Also, the high noon light is particularly harsh and washed out any photos.

Last night I took a late night wander to photograph some of the landmarks lit up. It was quite pleasant, as the sun wasn't beating down and a nice wind was blowing in from the ocean. Today, I leave Malayasia in route to Bangkok (on a 21 hour train ride) in preparation for the seconde marathon, then most likely I will push into northern Thailand.

Advertisement



18th March 2006

Leave it to those damn Brits to proclaim that a Fort has never been breached when it has not been attacked. Likewise, I have never been conquered by an army. Ah ha, I am invincible....the gods bow down to my splendid human form and bath me with the perspiration of beautiful women.
18th March 2006

Oddly enough, I have received word from one of my messengers that the goddess sweat is gathered during the noon hours from Malaysian women (but that they are really hotttttt).
21st March 2006

More Steam
Let's get more details on that stuff Greg is talking about... Do we need a seperate log-in to access the trashy stuff? What happened to those Aussie tourists you kept mentioning?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb