Welcome to the jungle!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Tanah Rata
February 5th 2007
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

i thought i'd first have a little question and answer session here because there's a lot people want to know!

i have no idea what the story is on the pink taxis (see Pulau Pangkor). i haven't read anything about it - they're just there! i thought they were very cute. Very cozy with four people and lots of backpacks! 😊

As for the scorpion farms, the scorpions are kept in little glass containers, and the people who work there bring them out - and they put them on people's arms for pictures and stuff. Won't happen to me! There were also lost of spiders in there...not a fan of spiders either. Although i did share my shower this morning with a rather large eight-legged creature. I didn't know if he would jump or try to eat me so i just tried to leave him alone. Although i had a plan to drown him if he (she?) tried anything!!

The country is very beautiful. I'll have to visit Nova Scotia then to find out how it compares 😊

I was really excited because today we did a little jungle trekking. There's a very fascinating man named John who leads the hikes - he's from Germany, very smart, speaks about 5 or 6 different languages, very outgoing personality and knows everybody. Even looks like a wandering soul with his long blonde hair and headscarf, pierced nose and eyebrow - big long legs that left us miles behind at times! He apparently can do a different trek for you every day should you so choose. The plan was to walk up the third highest mountain in the area. When we got to the top, we were up a cool 1700 meters. I shouldn't comment further on the height, but i feel guilty so i'll tell you that our total walking distance was only about 200 meters. There were some easy sections, but on the hardest one my quads were burning and i was sucking wind pretty good. But I made it! It felt amazing at the top, and i was really proud of Emily and me for making it all the way! We then hiked from that one peak to another (slightly lower) but still had some tough sections in it. There were some amazing plants, like these beautiful yellowy-oranage flowers that curve up in a J-shape towards the sun, and they trap insects and digest them. Apparently they fill with rain water and the monkeys drink from them 😊 We saw lots of ant nests, and a gigantic millipede (i didnt' stop too close to look at that one!). No mosquitoes though, which was nice. I have been taking my malaria medication though - i decided to play it safe. I haven't gone crazy yet!

Tomorrow we head off to Penang - more beautiful islands and beaches. I'm not complaining about the cold here (!) but it will be nice to put away my long sleeves and pants. Sounds like i missed a nice snowstorm in edmonton! It's been two weeks but i still remember what snow is like 😊

Hopefully we'll find some good internet so i can keep everyone updated!

love Lindsay 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

on the slide!on the slide!
on the slide!

These next few pictures are mostly for Mariah, because there is this amazing playground here for little kids, and she would absolutely love it!!!


17th February 2007

Playground
I like the slide, Lindsay. I hope you got down alright. The playground looks like fun!! Wish I was there with you. Love Mariah XXOO

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb