Holy Diver


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Pulau Tioman
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Feeding Frenzy 50 secs
Malaysia


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

This was taken right in front of my bungalow
Say Hello to My Little FriendSay Hello to My Little Friend
Say Hello to My Little Friend

I passed the camera to my classmate Oskar for this one
Damn Dirty ApesDamn Dirty Apes
Damn Dirty Apes

This is the little bastard who charged me - look at him glaring at me!
My $8 RoomMy $8 Room
My $8 Room

No AC, but the sound of the surf at night was nice. The water came about 20 feet from my porch at high tide.
Turquoise WaterTurquoise Water
Turquoise Water

The island is surrounded by coral reefs, and covered in primordial forest
Monitor LizardMonitor Lizard
Monitor Lizard

Saw them everyday, this was one of the larger ones, probably 7 feet from nose to tail. I heard these guys keep the island cat population under control.
My RoommateMy Roommate
My Roommate

This is little brother - big brother was a bit camera shy. I could swear I heard him running across the wall before I saw him. He was a little bigger than a beer coaster.
Fresh Water CreekFresh Water Creek
Fresh Water Creek

The road (sidewalk) had to bridge these every 200 feet or so, there was usually a monitor lizard or two hanging out in them.
Island TransportIsland Transport
Island Transport

This is how the locals get around on the island
Parting Shot at Ayer Batang PierParting Shot at Ayer Batang Pier
Parting Shot at Ayer Batang Pier

This island is famous for being the site where South Pacific was filmed
Banded Sea SnakeBanded Sea Snake
Banded Sea Snake

This guy reared up to get a closer look at me
Black Tip Reef SharkBlack Tip Reef Shark
Black Tip Reef Shark

I was lucky to get a photo of this one at all, they are fast and very shy - he was about 6 feet long.
Blue Spotted StingrayBlue Spotted Stingray
Blue Spotted Stingray

Lots of these around the reef
Giant MorayGiant Moray
Giant Moray

His head was as big as mine


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb