What a Difference!!!


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
January 2nd 2013
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today we arrived in Malaka. I haven't had any time to look around yet, but I can already tell there is a difference. I think I might miss Singapore a bit. Don't get me wrong, I am very excited to get to explore Malaysia. I just was starting to feel confident in Singapore. I knew how to get around and i knew where to eat. I think I am also going to miss the bathrooms. When I was packing for the trip I read over the items we were instructed to bring and I started to get nervose. I wondered how bad the bathrooms would be that I'd need to carry my own toilet paper and hand sanitizer. I wondered how dirty and mucky it would be that I'd need tons of pills and medicaiton for incase of stomach bugs or other more deadly viruses. All of these fears seemed to disapear in Singapore. I actually stoped carrying my personal toilet wipes in my bag two days ago. What a bad idea!

I hope this isn't to personal for anyone reading, but I had to pee like 25 times today. I know I am trying to stay really hydrated but even I think that is excessive. Anyway, I went right before we got on the bus to Malaysia. I went again the first time we stoped to go through customs. And I stoped again at the bus stop between the last customs and our final destination of Malaysia. Each time it got progressively worse and my understanding of the packing precautions grew. At the last place I had to buy two packets of toilet paper (at least I didn't have to pay to pee, that seems to be pretty common). The first one I used for its purpose but the second I used to touch the doors and faucets. They all seemed to be caked in something wet and slimy. Thats right, you can say it....GROSS!!! There is one good take away from all of this. I used my first squaty potty. I think that is suppose to be some sort of accomplishmet lol.

After finally getting to Malaka we took taxis to the Hostel. It was a very exciting ride (I have not felt that scared to die in a while). The taxi driver was very competent and very very fast. I did restrain myself from kissing the ground when we arrived though. Our rooms are a bit smaller but they are just as nice. I am excited because the rooming switched up a bit so I can get to know other people a bit better. In a little bit we will be getting some food and I am hoping to try something new. I also could use to find an ATM. I realized when I was trying to buy the toilet paper that all I had was Singapore money. Still there is time since tonight is covered by the school. Also, sorry again about the lack of pics. I am going to try and buy a camera some time tomorrow.

LOTs of Love

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb