Malacca Nights


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
July 31st 2008
Published: August 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MalaccaMalaccaMalacca

Best trishaw
My time in Malacca picked up a bit-was a bit dreary after having seen so many museums. Next day I walked around Chinatown and wandered into a temple with Taoist, Confucionist and Buddhist shrines. I started chatting with the man at the desk about religion and he quizzed me on my Buddhism and since I scored 80-90% correct I walked away with not one but two books on Buddhism! He said one of them is really hard to get outside of Asia.

I wandered back to the hostel not knowing what a colorful crowd we'd have there that night: the owners and 2 British brothers who've been there awhile, 2 trishaw drivers one of whom has the most beautiful trishaw in all of Melacca, a street vendor who sells atop the hill without a license, and a member of the Triads-an infamous Chinese gang. We all had some tasty Chinese pork in buns and beers while someone passed around a joint. Apparently you just get the death penalty if you smuggle-not just for smoking. You could get a few days in jail but the cops are easy to bribe. Don't worry-I didn't 😊 We went outside to compare the two trishaws and see just how awesome the one was. It even has a real car stereo installed with powerful speakers. The driver offered to take me for a spin around Chinatown which I graciously accepted with a romantic Chinese song blasting in the background. Everywhere we went locals waved and called out to the driver (he's very famous) and tourists quickly pulled out their cameras to snap a pic of the most beautifully decorated trishaw in all of Malacca.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb