Back into Malaysia (Phew!!)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Kelantan » Kota Bharu
September 10th 2006
Published: September 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Going Back into MalaysiaGoing Back into MalaysiaGoing Back into Malaysia

Border crossing not so messy as I thought, but thats malaysia for you.
After the Mayhem of the full moon party we now had the mayhem of re-entering Malaysia and at least 20 hours of travelling to get to Mersing to visit Palau Tiomen. After the apparent ease of going north in Thailand doing the reverse seems to be a lot harder. Everyone was going north I spoke to. In fact you might as well be asking to be shot into space than go south. First it was a night train to Hat Yai from Surat Thani, easily the worse journey so far. All the seats seem to be broke so it was a lottery if the person in front had a seat that went back further than it should, resulting with you having a blokes head in your lap. Everytime the train went over a metal bridge the train made a crazy screetching noise, like the train was derealing, if you were asleep you would be awoken suddenly believing this was the end and the next time you woke up you'd be at the giant full moon party in the sky. The windows had two settings, closed and no window at all!
Once at Hat Rin, it was another DVT minibus monster journey
Clock Tower, Kota BharuClock Tower, Kota BharuClock Tower, Kota Bharu

The one and only picture I have of Kota Bharu.
to the border. This was one was the worst buses ever, the road was terrible, I had no headrest so every bump was potential whiplash injury. There was zero room for my gangly frame and Henson, who seems to sleep anywhere, managed to sleep in my lap. I couldn't ride the storm out listening to some music as my MP3 player wasn't loud enough to dampen out the bus stereo noise, resulting in me hearing a strange DJ shadow/ Thai Power Rock ballards hyrid of music which to this moment still sickens me. Dave was chatted up by a ladyboy (We think, the debate still rages) at the service station, he/she seemed really keen, Dave wasn't so sure.
I expected the border to be absolute chaos with cars and people everywhere but thankfully there was no issue re-entering Malaysia, I've never been so happy to re-enter a country! Although I'm going back into Thailand all the touting, pidgeon english with no manners ("pay now, pay now!") does get on my nerves after a while. A please and thankyou goes a long way, I've really made the effort to learn these in different languages, it'll be nice if it came back the same.
We have ended up at Kota Bharu which is just over the border. Its the city of Islam (I think thats was the poster says!) and it does feel quite religious, theres prayers coming out of the loud speakers wherever you walk which is quite relaxing to hear and it seems quite a nice place. We went down to the Islam museam which in the end I don't think we went in, and went in another place which must have a band rehersal studio next door as the singer on the mike was possibly the worst singer I've ever heard! The guide books speak of this being an important cultural centre, unfortunately time restrictions don't allow us to be here for long, we will have some time on the way back up I'm sure we might be able to check it out.
We leave tonight for Mersing as me and Dave will be heading to Palau Tiomen and Henson will be heading home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb